We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”
Review of El Mercado

El Mercado
Ranked #519 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The food is good and is consistent time and time again. The drinks are good (depending on which bar tender is working).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    69
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprised.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went here one night that most other restaurants in the area were closed for Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised with how tasty the food was, given the poor reviews on yelp. No frills. Just tasty food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly okay”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I didn't find the food to be anything special, but the service was good, and I appreciated that they have vegetarian options. The prices are reasonable and I liked that you can get a small margarita for $3.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victr0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“How can you do this to Tex Mex in Austin?”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well, it was Saturday afternoon before a UT football game, and the place was mobbed. The brisket taco featured dried out and tasteless beef, I suppose it was brisket but hard to tell. My GF's food was equally not tasty. No salads were on the menu. The chips and salsa were good, but that was the only thing. Even the margaritas were flat and not flavorful. It had been years since I had gone to El Mercado and now I remember why. With all the excellent Tex Mex places in Austin, I don't see myself going back here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mmm”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great place. Another cornerstone of amazing Austin Tex-Mex. Great enchiladas, tacos, salsa, queso, EVERYTHING!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattyboy549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mercado also viewed

 

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing