We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with friends”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #10 of 3,982 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Austin
Cross street: Barton Springs
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

This is in my opinion the best sushi joint I’ve ever eaten at. Great environment coupled with great food, this is a must stop for anyone traveling through the Austin area that enjoys Sushi. Very happy we found this place. Will most certainly be a return meal on our next visit.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank MNump33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

Our excellent server, Sam, was ready to answer our menu questions, however as soon as she mentioned the Omakase option, we were sold. Omakase is a 10 course chefs-choice selection of the most delectable, unusual, creative, sublime tastes arriving one by one at a leisurely pace. Sam asked some specific questions to direct the chef either towards or away from specific ingredients. We had favorites (shima aji crudo) but everything we tasted was delicious. Champagne was a delightfully clean companion to this memorable meal.

Date of visit: July 2019
3  Thank M8059PJjennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend Omakase which allows chef to have total control of your dining selections and the order they are served. The Austin location is like no other, the ambiance is authentic, service is highly attentive and not pretentious. High quality unexpected ingredients and flavors presented as art, wakes up tastes buds you didn’t know you had.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank 713bnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

After several years of procrastination we finally went to Uchi for dinner. Arrived about ten minutes early and had a five minute wait to be seated. Our waiter was Jodi and she was outstanding and did a great job of helping us navigate the menu and wine list and understanding the food. We had the ten course tasting menu and a bottle of Cremant d'Alsace which paired beautifully with all of the dishes. And the dishes were pretty consistently outstanding. Ingredients and preparation were consistently excellent. Plating was interesting. And service was outstanding. We were especially struck by two sauces that used mushrooms for extra body. Sadly I don't hear well in noisy environments and the detailed descriptions of most of the dishes escaped me so I will pass on describing the dishes other than to add that we had a nice diversity of food, including some beef. The biggest negative was the noise level but that calmed down as the evening progresses. It seems appropriate to note that in addition to valet parking they do have some self parking space. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank BreadmanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I love sushi. This restaurant is at the top of our list now. Lots of variation in their sushi. Server, John, was outstanding. He made great suggestions and each dish was great! Expensive, but worth it.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank tomc701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.