We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD SUSHI, PRICES A TAD HIGH”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #10 of 3,982 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Austin
Cross street: Barton Springs
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to Uchi. We were not disappointed. High quality Sushi and Sashimi. Beautiful presentation. Interesting Sake Cocktails.
We particularly enjoyed the Uni, Eel, and Yellowtail.
Good servuce, although it seemed the kitchen was a bit overloaded.
Our only complaint is pricing. Just a tad overpriced, even for quality Sushi and Sashimi. Worth the experience, but not to be a regular stop.

Parking available. Reservations a must.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank aebbrenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I made a reservation at 5:00 pm on a Wednesday to experience happy hour/Sake Social. Great idea! As we arrived 15 minutes early, the restaurant was still setting up so we waited in the bar area. As an inviting touch, free hors d’oeuvres we’re passed while we waited. We sat at a booth in the back and the noise level increased steadily when 2 large parties we placed near us. The restaurant has attempted to mitigate noise with ceiling tiles and flooring. We didn’t have a real noise issue since we sat next to one another. Just a heads up if you have those hearing challenged in your party. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. We enjoyed the happy hour menu items including tempura fish (perfectly crunchy), market fish nigiri selection (trout and tuna), and $3 hot sake. The miso soup came out Luke warm but was efficiently replaced. I really enjoyed the Hama Chili with a subtle heat with several glasses of Prosecco. My husband enjoyed the mackerel sashimi. We topped off with the decadent chocolate candy bar. Overall bill $135 pre-tip. We highly recommend!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Hystericalhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

Visiting Austin with 2 friends from New York- as one is in the restaurant business she came with a recommendation for Uchi - We were told it would be a Life changing experience- It was - We sat out under a tree and had great wine while waiting on our table - every so often someone would show up with a taste treat from the chef - We were soon ushered in to the restaurant and greeted by Lauren- our server - after a quick discussion we opted to start with oysters and trust Lauren to order for us - best decision ever - food was unbelievable - so fresh and tasty - can not even tell you what all we tried- every thing was fantastic- if ever in Austin again- I will be back!!!! Yes it was a life changing experience-

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

My daughter and I were visiting UT (Law) and went to Uchi as a treat after a long day. Incredible food, incredible service! We did the six course vegetarian tasting and didn't regret a single bite. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. I highly recommend Uchi!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank V3155DQgregoryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

So we have been eating at Uchi in Dallas for the past couple years and have never been disappointed. Figured it was time to try the original. Very busy place. We made qa reservation two weeks out on the Saturday after Thanksgiving and 9:15 was the earliest we could get. We sat at the sushi bar, which is always fun.

The food of course was fabulous. As always, we made our way through the menu looking for things we had not tried before. It was easy to do here as they had a more extensive menu of specials. We always seem to start with the brussel sprouts because they are just too good to pass up.

We tried the oysters for the first time and they were good, although a little difficult to eat with chopsticks as they were covered in some sort of Asian ham. Tuna, Amberjack, Bream. All good. Had the fatty tuna and it was unlike your everyday tuna. Of course, finished with a piece of foie gras sushi with a sip of sauterene. Fabulous last bite.

So on to the service. We found it to be just a little too laid back. This is not an inexpensive place to eat and we hoped for a little better. Just like the way the Dallas location is run and the way the staff there is trained.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.