We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 4”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #10 of 3,982 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Austin
Cross street: Barton Springs
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Some of the best sushi in Austin. If you are staying at a hotel in downtown, it’s about a $10 Uber Ride to the restaurant. They offer a full menu of sushi as well as warm food. It’s very busy so get there early.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank uhsigmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2018

We travel to Japan frequently and eat sushi all over that country. If you cannot afford to go to Japan, eat at Uchi! For our money, some of the best sushi outside of Japan. Exceptional service, they know the menu and are helpful if you are not certain what you want. Each item is separate so you can run up a bill easily - but it is worth it. Get there about 4:30 p.m., check in with front desk, the get first come first serve - with a limited "Happy hour" menu; you can also order off the main menu. You can also do reservations. The sushi is simply delicious! Try the saki. Nice atmosphere, quiet background conversations (once in a while someone gets loud), but overall great experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We had a perfectly marvelous meal at Uchi last night. We've eaten at many Japanese restaurants in our life, and this place is definitely top-notch, unquestionably among the very best we've tried. We loved the tapas style, which meant we got to taste many things. Our server was very helpful, very friendly, and gave us great advice about what to try. The atmosphere is lively without being too loud. We are eager to go back again and thought every aspect of this experience was fabulous, fun, and amazingly tasty!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Uchi is one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The ambiance is a relaxed luxury. The decor is elegant yet not stuffy. The staff tends to every need. Tyson Cole the executive chef will exceed your expectations in every way. It is almost impossible to create a space that is perfect for a date or a business dinner with out of town execs. If in Austin this has to be at the top of your dining list.
On yea, did I mention it is the best sushi this side of Tokyo?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jdarrenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

I have been a patron of Uchi for many years and always take my out of town business clients there for dinner. The fish is always very fresh, ingredients that can be locally sourced are. The days menu of specials are always fantastic and keep me coming back for more. The service is always wonderful even with the normal wall to wall crowd.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bihain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.