We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously, I never knew food could be SO great”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Cross street: Barton Springs
Solana Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seriously, I never knew food could be SO great”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We took Steven H's advise and ate the brussel sprouts...what a great recommendation! The presentation is colorful and plentiful. You won't be disappointed. I hope that you end up here enjoying the food, service and atmosphere.
Side note, they gave us complimentary dishes...just because. We ate about 6 dishes between the 2 of us along with dessert and our bill was $60 - yes, $60. We were shocked, in a good way, when we got the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    172
    50
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Both the Uchi in Austin and in Houston are among the best restaurants I've been to. You must try the brussel sprouts - yes, brussel sprouts. They are a signature. Next, go mostly for the cold dishes, its what their known for, and are the most popular and flavorful dishes. If you're looking for a traditional roll, try the shag roll.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“There simply are no words”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every positive, wonderful, terrific review that you have read is true. AMAZING would be a good word. We had every item on the tasting menu and then some. Fantastic service, friendly attentive and accommodating. But the food, well, there are not enough words to do it justice. Run do not walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great time and meal”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When it coms to food, I like to treat myself. I can't help it. I love the stuff. So I don't mind spending a lot of money on great meals...I can only review Uchi based on one night's experience but this is all to lead up to that Uchi was one of my favorite dining experiences ever.
In visiting Austin for only 36 hours, I made a last minute reservation for my husband and me; I was psyched that I was able to get us in only the night before we were there. When we were arrived there were throngs of people waiting outside, and in the bar-on a Monday night! Our table wasn't ready immediately, but it was a pleasant wait at the bar with our bartender who was friendly and informative about the wines and sakes. We moved to dinner, where we took up our table for a few hours and went through the tasting menu, adding on some plates that were interesting to us. Outstanding meal. The service was excellent, and the food was paced perfectly! Our server, Steve, was a pleasure and made us feel welcome and at home. Each person who dropped a new plate gave a brief description of what we were about to eat. And the food! The pork jowl plate was sensational-I far preferred it to the Bacon Steakie. The Machi Cure was another outstanding course. And starting with the Crudo was perfect. Even dessert (the Peanut Butter Semifredo) was stunning.
This was such a great dinner. I loved the casual atmosphere, the service that was down to earth and welcoming, and the food-delicious and interesting. Thanks, Uchi for a great night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeedingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Texas”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This isn't your typical rainbow roll or dragon roll place. They have super interesting nigiri and rolls. I was skeptical at first because I heard it was more "innovative" than traditional but they preserve the essence and perfection of Japanese ingredients and techniques in all their dishes.

As someone who frequents Japan and enjoys authentic and traditional sushi, I also enjoyed Uchi! It's def not the usual tacky fusion places you find in Texas that adds random chicken teriyaki rolls to their menu.

If you're in the mood for sushi- def make a trip here but plan early Bc rsvp's are hard to find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennelopeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing