We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sushi, Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
801 S Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78704-1509 (Zilker Park)
(512) 916-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3,414 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Cross street: Barton Springs
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently dined here for a friend's birthday and it was such an experience! We were greeted promptly and seated within minutes of arrival, we had appetizers and wine, and soup and many different sushi rolls and it was all just exquisite. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Deserved it's rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Sushi was the best anhywhere. Creative small plates, well presented and delicious! Service was excellent, timed perfectly and paced. I would go here again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sushi9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“too weird. waste of time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we went here expecting some sushi and basic Japanese food. the menu was very different. i like to try new things, and i did here, i just was not impressed with the food. cool atmosphere and outside bar area. waited about 2 hours. we were told an hour but it turned into 2. plates are small and are good for sharing. spent a lot of money and time here and we left hungry. would have rather gotten some Texas BBQ instead.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank h_wood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Creative Food. Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Uchi is one of those very few places in Austin that will have me wait an hour and half for a table. It is that good. The quality and freshness of ingredients is top notch. The presentation and creative use of ingredients will leave you wanting to back for more. Despite the well deserved top spot for a restaurant in Austin, the staff and the ambiance is not pretentious or arrogant. To the contrary, everyone is very friendly and accommodating.
You may get lucky and be seated fast, but regardless of the wait, it is well worth it.

One observation is that they only have one permanent table large enough to seat a large group (8+), so consider the likely wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isturiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place for a birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband took me there for my birthday. The food was amazing, atmosphere great. Would go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#