We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th of July weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malaga Tapas & Bar

Malaga Tapas & Bar
Ranked #329 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: San Antonio
Stonewall, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4th of July weekend”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Chef Alejandro Duran's restaurant is absolutely phenomenal! We tried many of the tapas (with a group), and each one was truly outstanding, making it difficult to choose a favorite. I would have to say, "all of them"! I had the privilege of visiting the kitchen and found a very organized and happy group of people - which translated itself into the food they prepared. When you go to Austin, this is a must-try place. Thank you Chef Alex for a wonderful experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sallyg416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    63
    27
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Tapas bar”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice restaurant! This bar had some great summer tapas combinations, all reasonably priced-- ahi tuna with watermelon and watercress was our favorite. The dining room was spacious with private booths and good service. Sunday night happy hour featured sangria and a decent selection of wine for $4/glass. We'll definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthDallas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Do the Happy Hour Pairings”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Honestly, I have read worse reviews from folks who have gone during non-Happy Hour times. I think their HH wine + app for $6 is a steal, and they have some pretty good app choices. The wine is always good.

Helpful?
Thank TaraMaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50th Wedding Annerivsary”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Chef Alex provided excellent meal and his staff were well versed in all services. Wife is from Spain and the items on the menu were true Spanish items.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilery D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in Austin for a family wedding. This was a wonderful place to enjoy a nice dinner with family members. The good was good and the service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Tapas & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Malaga Tapas & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing