We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Blake roll!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenichi - CLOSED

Kenichi
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Try the Blake roll!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice place for dinner, walking distance for downtown hotels. Good sushi, the Blake roll was the best. Service was good.

Helpful?
Thank Art918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    10
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Sushi in the US”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

A trip to Austin is never complete without a trip to Kenichi. I'd suggest you order the sushi "Omakaze" meaning for the chef to decide, set a per person budget and let the chef and staff dazzle you. Always an adventure and always awesome.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good service, food sucks!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Definitely not recommended! Food are really expensive and really bad! The worst food I ever tasted! The service was good

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
211 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Art of Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We eat at the sushi bars in our home town, but this was a completely different experience. Friends in Austin recommended this restaurant when we visited and we're glad that we went. The entree's are very creative. We recognized nothing on the menu despite some familiarity with Asian food. If you go, don't be intimidated by the menu; the server was extremely patient and helpful. The servings were beautifully presented and just the right size. We were given a complimentary dessert when we said it was our first visit. We went on a Friday night so a reservation was a necessity. Very crowded and on the loud side, but acceptable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Overlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gluten Free service is a joke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Food was good not great. service was good not great.

For Gluten free options, they gave one of our group a "Glutinous Menu" which supposedly showed the items which had gluten in them. So rather than have a GF menu, you were supposed to figure it out from these two menus. But, even this didn't work since most rolls seemed to have tempura cooked ingredients, and yet weren't on the Glutinous Menu. Ditto many of the cooked items such as steaks, which had soy sauce as an ingredient in sauces.

Don't look for the wait staff to help you either - they just looked confused.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Well Traveled Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing