We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time and worth the journey!”
Review of The Dart Bowl Cafe

The Dart Bowl Cafe
Ranked #753 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Steakhouse, Cafe
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A step back in time and worth the journey!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Bowling brings back memories of growing up in a small town with few attractions besides the bowling alley. A couple of time a year I grab the kids and we go bust some pins. Dart Bowl is our favorite and one of the reasons is the cafe. As you walk in the restaurant it feels like you are stepping back in time and the only thing missing is a jukebox (although they may have one). There are daily specials to keep the regulars coming in, but my favorites are the cheeseburger or the enchiladas.The prices aren't from the 60's or 70's, but they could be from the 80's! The cafe is a local icon so you'll see an interesting mix of people, many who have been coming for years. Count me in that group.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good burgers”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really good burgers for a bowling alley. Sorta quaint in a way, but reminds me of a 50's burger joint

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KPNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“No service!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We decided to eat at Dart Bowl while waiting for a lane. We sat down and waited....and waited....and waited. The waitress made no attempt to help us even as she made eye contact with us. Finally, after she started to wait on a table that came in several minutes (like 15 minutes) after us we decided to leave. After further observation, the waitress was only interested in helping customers who were her friends. We went to Dan's down the street and had a good burger. We returned and our lane was ready. When I told the person at the desk what happened, she gave me the manager's number and encouraged me to call him because there have been numerous complaints regarding the restaurant and its service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRsNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most excellent enchiladas”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As much as it is a bowling alley, it is also a very good restaurant with an impressive Austin heritage. First time there - granddaughter's birthday bowling party. The staff did a perfect job of hosting and coordinating the birthday event. The restaurant was an unexpected bonus. The owner stopped and talked with us, explained his business history and philosophy. Much of his staff has been with him for generations. You won't find better enchiladas!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bolivartwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great Southern Cooking”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Great food and good service. I recommend the Patty Melt or the Enchiladas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasharpist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dart Bowl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing