We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Sullivan's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sullivan's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #227 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 3rd Street
Transit: Yes
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went to Sullivans in Austin and sat at the bar for dinner. The bar tender was fantastic (pleasant, friendly, on top of things, etc..)Not only was the food great (I had a Sea Bass dinner) the atmosphere was great (live light jazz), and the service was great. I'd highly recommend it!!! I only wish I could remember her name for this as she deserves honorable mention...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank barrylazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    35
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unfortunate decline”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Most recent visit on a Saturday evening was a real disappoint. We were a party of 4. The restaurant was busy but not crowded. Three people ordered steaks and all of them were very undercooked. Our orders for salads and appetizers were wrong--requests for sauces/dressing on the side were ignored and the orders had to be replaced. The cowboy ribeye quality was poor--very grizzily and not the quality described by the server. I tried contacting Management the next day but I got no response. I'm not sure what's going on with Management and the kitchen..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GranadaOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently Good in Downtown Austin”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Sullivan's has been one of my favorite places to eat in downtown Austin for years. We last dined there on May 7th prior to going to ACL Live. They have been offering special menus for awhile now which are a really good value. Many nights there is live music in the streetside bar. The atmosphere is very nice and it is a quiet place where you can carry on dinner conversation without having to talk loudly over the background noise. I definitely recommend dining here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrhackerott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome meal, great value!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

They lured us in with a free $25 gift card in the mail...they offer a $39 three-course menu which was excellent! I had the calamari, the wedge salad and main course salmon. The hubby had shrimp cocktail, Caesar salad and NY strip. Wonderful! Great portions and didn't rush us. The waitress was very quiet (hard to hear) and not much personality but good service nonetheless. All in all worth it! We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Gus_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is what you expect a steak restaurant to be.
Good service, good food but on the expensive side.
Definitely worth to give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing