We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for lunch”
Review of Shady Grove

Shady Grove
Ranked #40 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shady Grove is located in the heart of 78704 in Austin, TX. Nestled under the shade of a tall pecan grove, we have been serving up Austin-inspired home cooking, cocktails, sunshine and smiles since 1992. In the months of April through September, Shady Grove hosts KGSR's Unplugged at The Grove, one of Austin's longest running free live music series, every Thursday night at 8pm.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

First stop in Austin for lunch. Unusual old world decor inside and out. Excellent service with table right away. Knowledgeable and service orientated staff. Great menu for lunch with large helpings. The pulled pork sandwich was special. The others enjoyed the meatloaf and chilli burgers. Good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    218
    51
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A must stop for Foodies”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The place is iconic even for for old Austin. The food is great try the Hippie Chick or try it without the chicken. Burgers are great Don't be afraid to share. The Frings ..combo of Onion rings and French fries is a must and of course they make THE BEST Margaritas in town Frozen or otherwise. Sit Outside ! check out the travel trailer that houses the restrooms... A real trip back in time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A perfect place for my first meal in Austin!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Came here yesterday for lunch on my first trip to Austin. It's true what they say -- Austin boasts many fabulous dining experiences. We sat in a booth indoors to avoid the heat. The pulled pork with jalapeno lime coleslaw (a house specialty) was fresh, spicy and delicious. The Hatch Chili burrito was likewise. Thanks to our friendly server for the recommendations of some of his favorites. A big success all round!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Heaven!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was a terrific change of pace and a little drive from downtown, but the atmosphere outside by the water and turtles was wonderful. We ordered the combo platter of the BBQ trio and it was good, but not great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rockydogz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's so AUSTIN!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Went there on the recommendations of friends, and WOW!! So glad I listened. Would've sat on the patio (I love a good patio), but it was a tad warm. Inside was so cozy and so very Austin - felt like we were inside an old ranch house, or Pa, Hoss, Adam & Little Joe were about to walk into the room! (from the show "Bonanza" for the young 'uns) Our waiter Morris was very friendly and efficient, and had great suggestions. The chicken tortilla soup was one of the best I'd ever had. If I lived here, I'd be back every time that was their soup of the day. Seriously good flavor, & chock-full of veggies, tortilla strips & avocado. Had the Hippie Chick sandwich & added onion rings. OMG - another winner. Do not miss this hot spot when you're in Austin!! One of the patios I've ever seen, but beware - it fills up quickly on a Friday evening.

Helpful?
Thank NancyMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Grove also viewed

 

Been to Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing