We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport food - YUK”
Review of Maudie's Cafe

Maudie's Cafe
Ranked #279 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Airport food - YUK”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First do NOT order your food with rice & beans! The beans are from a can & COLD!! The rice was under cooked & terrible. The enchiladas & tacos were just ok. Nothing to brag about just ok so if you eat here I recommend passing on the sides. Save that money and order ala cart!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Austin has so many options for Tex-Mex restaurants, this one need not be on your radar. The only redeeming value about Maudie's is their location. We chose the outdoor seating, which was nice. But the chips and salsa set the tone for the rest of the meal. I have had better salsa from a jar. My family shared the queso, which the kids seemed to enjoy, but again, it reminded me of store-brand queso. The Rockin' Ruthann's burrito was flavorless with no seasoning of any kind. Also, I got the impression that the waitstaff would prefer a more hip clientele then we presented. Save your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunAwayNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Bad! ”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at about 1830hrs today - Saturday 25th May. There appeared to be plenty of off-road parking, but no available spots. We parked on a side street.

Chips and salsa arrived very quickly; the chips were good, but the salsa was runny and looked as though it was 'over-buzzed' in a blender. The spice was a medium im the salsa!

Waiter promptly took our order:
I just had the Skinny Chipotle Chicken Fajita
The wife had a chicken enchilada soup to start, which she said was 'good' and the Fish Tacos, which were 'not interesting - dull' according to her.

I discovered the 'skinny' meant 'no tortillas' for my entree, which was very flavorful, but a tad spicy for my palate!

Overall, I'm not sure that we'd bother to go nack again for Supper, maybe breakfast. An average experience!

Total cost was $23 exc tip. We left a 17.5% tip as service was good, even if the experience wasn't very memorable.

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A local tradition.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Close to home, best Mexican food in town. A regular place, close to Deep Eddy Pool, and WAYA (West Austin Youth Asso).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Considering the number of Tex-Mex options in Austin, this place is mediocre in the pack. There are worst places, but there are certainly better. The staff is usually friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maudie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maudie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing