We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for groups or dates”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bess Bistro on Pecan - CLOSED

Bess Bistro on Pecan
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Antonio
Transit: Accessible by Capital Metro Bus Routes #4 Montopolis & #21 Exposition
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for groups or dates”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Bess is such a treat. Situated under a building in West Austin, you feel somewhat transported elsewhere, like New Orleans. Be ready to eat some decadent food, like shepard's pie, steak frites, and croque monsieur (must have!). They knocked it out of the park with their pumpkin risotto. They have great cocktails, and their fried artichoke appetizer is delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryGirlAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    8
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
593 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Austin!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I ate here with a friend as was pleasantly surprised. The food is farm to table, extremely fresh and flavorful The wine list has a great variety and not at ridiculous prices. You will be sure to find something good. The cocktails are old school and made up of various concoctions. Try at least one you have never had. The interior of the restaurant is inviting and well done. The restaurant also has a small covered upstairs deck. We had a great server who was very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend and will be back on my next trip to Austin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Must in Austin on 6th!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Bess is an absolute gem of a restaurant. We visited on a Wednesday night and place was very busy and we had reservations for 7pm, however there were a few tables open. The lighting is very soft setting the tone for a romantic evening or a great place to entertain out of town guests! The decor and overall restaurant construction keeps that part of old Austin feel, especially on 6th. Even the restrooms had a different feel that just keeps the mood. We had the Pan Seared Scallops and the Pan Seared Creekstone Filet. Both were absolutely phenomenal! The size of the Scallops were like a small filet themselves and served over pumpkin risotto. The service was prompt and great. They offer a full bar and notable wine list. There is plenty of parking on the streets, parking lots and Valet for $7. We are so glad we tried this and will be back soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TXJamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good for sure!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had reservations ( which I highly recommend) on a Saturday night. They were very busy and seated us right away. The waiter was very attentive and let us know of the specials. We didn't order them and opted from the regular menu. We had the scallops and salmon, both were very good! No dessert for us, so I can't comment. I will go back and this time try the brunch, as everyone has suggested.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2105stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, KS, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The wait staff was attentive and courteous. The Sunday brunch includes a la carte items as well as a buffet all of which was delicious. I would highly recommend the Fruity Pebbles pancakes. The next time we are in Austin we’ll definitely make a point to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bess Bistro on Pecan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing