We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Ranked #118 of 197 Hotels in Austin
El Paso
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend picked this hotel for our one year anniversary. I was completely suprised with the accomodations. The room was comparable to a 4 star hotel. If you look at the pictures, you can see that Jay and his staff went out of their way to make our anniversary very memorable. Thank you Jay your the best. Everything was perfect. We will be staying here again on our next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkqueen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    62
    28
    17
    19
See reviews for
52
83
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I don't think I had ever stayed at a Rodeway Inn, this was a great experience! We were welcomed by Jay and he upgraded us to a king suite which was very nice. The room was very large, newly upgraded, it was done very well. Jay provided a map of Austin, it was huge! He also called to make sure everything in our room was acceptable. The hotel is easily accessable from the interstate and there are a number of restaurants in the area. Target is right around the corner. I agree with the other reviews and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Prior to our visit we read all the Tripadvisor accolades/reviews. How could we go wrong?They were "right on". What a freakin deal!! The gen.mgr. Jay has really taken charge only hiring the best service oriented people. After checking into our (newly updated) room the clerk "Kash" called us to see if all was well and even brought up a huge free map of Austin. The room was very nice as the photos show with: refig,micro,desk tile/granite bath,pillow top king bed,flat screen TV. Yes we were impressed to say the least. See the pics of the motel int./ext. on the Choice Hotel website. Free breakfast is incl. and as an option the little Mex restaurant (adjacent) makes the best pancakes, omelets, & mex style scrambled eggs anywhere. Our Rm.# 205 was very quiet and safe. We were there 2-wks and got to know Jay and all his superb staff. Another plus was we did't need a car because the #37 Cap-Metro bus was only 7-8 min. away walking thru 3 well lit parking lots. We really enjoyed that little motel and Austin. Special thanks to "Erin" the morning clerk who is working on his masters at UT. He is A-plus. The location is easy to find right off I-35. What more could you ask for?? Book early because its a small motel and Austin is very busy with many festivals, ballgames,music venues and so much going on. Enjoy Austin. Cheers, J.D.W. .

Room Tip: TIP: We liked the second floor rooms next to the extra quiet fire wall. All rooms open into the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcityannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I’s experience at the Rodeway Inn was nothing short of excellent, and it shouldn’t have been. To make a long story short, plans fell through and mistakes were made that almost made our vacation a nightmare; but thanks to the staff at the Rodeway Inn, we had an unforgettable time in Austin. It’s safe to say that Jay (manager) and his staff had the best customer service ethic I've ever experienced at any business, anywhere; it seems like they'd do just about anything to make our time more relaxing. For instance, when our flight arrived hours earlier than expected, Jay got us a room before check in time (and it was a king suite)! When cabs failed to show up, Jay had a hotel employee give us a ride. We didn't have a computer to print out information we needed, Jay let us use the computer behind the front desk. These are just a few problems we encountered that Jay invited to solve for us. It was a great feeling knowing you had someone on your side in a foreign location.

Aside from great customer service, the hotel quality, comfort, and aesthetic design is superb; you can tell they have been adamantly investing money and thought into these finer details of your stay. One of the smartest policies they have is not renting rooms to locals, ensuring druggies, weirdoes, and late night “bedrockers” don’t put a damper on your stay. The interior design scheme is luxurious; painted walls, flat screen t.v.s, giant pillowtop mattresses, granite countertops, etc. No stone seems to have been unturned when it comes to ensuring your stay is beyond satisfactory.

Room Tip: If you want a better room, ask the staff about upgrading to a king suite; it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A great hotel if you are on a roadtrip through Texas. Rooms were exceptional for the price, spacious and with big comfortable beds. We were travelling with another couple and the room was definately big enough for 4 adults without feeling cramped. The manager Jay was very obliging with helping organise our time in Austin and supplied a tasty breakfast which was included in the low cost. A great location for us as we were heading out hiking the following day and were able to easily stock up on food and gear from the supermarket complex close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is older, but very well kept. The rooms were updated and very clean. The housekeeping staff was quick and friendly when we needed something. The restaurant next door has awesome breakfast. For the price, you can't beat it. The manager, Jay, is extremely professional. Whatever recipe they have for their success, they need to keep it up. We will be returning to Austin and this place is where we WILL be staying. Well done, Rodeway!

P.S. It is easy to access by the freeway. The area was very quiet (I am a light sleeper) and the parking area was incredibly safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was more than I expected. The room was spacious. The service was great. Easy access to and from the freeway with little to no noise in your room from the traffic. Location is near a shopping center which has a Target. Caddy corner there is a Specs. The manager Jay made my stay great by asking me everyday if there was anything he could do to make my stay more enjoyable. The staff was helpfull with directions and an easy check in and out. When requested items for the room they were promptly delivered. The room was very clean room and modern. This is not your usual Rodeway Inn. If you want to stay in a classy hotel at a reasonable price this is the place for you. Complimentary breakfast was great. I slept like a baby. Thank you Jay and your staff, keep up the excellent work. See you next time.

Room Tip: Call Jay ahead of time and tell him what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNineOneFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highlander Austin
#124 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Econo Lodge North Austin
#142 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing