We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortably Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Ranked #125 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortably Quiet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was on a road trip when I decided to stay at this hotel as per my friend’s recommendation. It made me feel like I was at my own home, for the arrangements and the facilities are well maintained and very much accessible. The room was air conditioned and there was a TV cable service which kept me busy for hours. The local calls were free but I was unable to avail that facility, sadly. There were coffee and tea makers along with irons, microwaves, hair dryers and lastly but perhaps most importantly, free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody_L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    29
    19
    20
See reviews for
54
85
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
871 reviews
477 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 943 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The reviews are correct -- this recently renovated motel offers very nice rooms at a great price. Value for money, I suspect it's the best place to stay in Austin.

The only reason I'm not giving it 5-stars is that it still is only a basic old-time-but-nicely-renovated motel. This isn't a fancy place, so know what you're getting into. And the free breakfast, which they don't even advertise, is only cereal and packaged muffins. That said, if I just wanted a room for the night fairly close to downtown Austin, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn for two nights, and will definitely choose it again for our next trip into Austin. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable; the bed like a cloud. But the best thing about the Rodeway was the excellent service. Jay, the owner, was very friendly and ready to help. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn twice, once for 4 nights and the other just one night. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It has been recently renovated. The beds are extremely comfortable - we slept very well all the nights we stayed there. The bathrooms are small, not something that can be helped, I suppose. Watch out for the water in the shower - it can change temps on you very quickly. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. This hotel is in a good location, close to downtown but convenient to get back to the interstate if needed. And the restaurant out front has great breakfast - omelets are huge! Highly recommend you stay here, and call to book a negotiated rate if possible. Might save you a little bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went by the reviews and were not disappointed. Clean room, lovely comfy bed and a lovely welcome from Jay. Our sat Nav couldn't find it so note that it is on the 290 EAST EXIT 238A. Next to a Mexican restaurant that looks like a miniature Sydney opera house ..but I can assure you that the Saturday night karaoke certainly didn't live up to such standards but the food was really good and cheap. The hotel is quite a way from the main town so you really need to have a car to get around. Lots of FREE parking and wifi. Breakfast is the strict minimum - coffee, juice, cereal and muffins if you get there early!! We booked via booking.com for 175$ for 2 nights which we found cheap compared to town centre prices. Thanks to the staff for this nice clean, new hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: If you can't carry luggage upstairs to 1st floor, ask for ground floor room and you can park in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were driving to Austin without a hotel on a football weekend and needed help. Turned to Tripadvisor and read about Roadway Inn close to campus. It was hard to believe for the price it could be that good. IT WAS!! Rooms were so nice that we felt we were at one of the downtown higher end hotels. The plus was that the front desk was so hospitable. Jay was personality and charm, attending to all our requests! It took us 5 minutes to jump on freeway and get to the UT campus. We actually liked being away from all the congestion of downtown. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Positives:
- The check in person, Jay, is very friendly and wants to talk to you like your a member of his family when you check in, which is always good in terms of being welcomed to a hotel.

- The maid service is excellent. I watched them do a thorough cleaning of my room.

- Very close to the freeway, however, you don't hear ANY road noise.

- BIGGEST POSITIVE: THEY DO NOT RENT TO LOCALS, which means ZERO chance of the hotel being used for drugs or prostitution. Very smart move by Jay.

Negatives:

- Small bathroom.

- Breakfast is limited to cereal, muffins and orange juice.


Bottom line: This hotel is TOP 10 in Austin for a reason, which you don't really associate Rodeway Inn's with being a best hotel, however, if you give this place a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cskerl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#157 of 201 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing