We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #109 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went by the reviews and were not disappointed. Clean room, lovely comfy bed and a lovely welcome from Jay. Our sat Nav couldn't find it so note that it is on the 290 EAST EXIT 238A. Next to a Mexican restaurant that looks like a miniature Sydney opera house ..but I can assure you that the Saturday night karaoke certainly didn't live up to such standards but the food was really good and cheap. The hotel is quite a way from the main town so you really need to have a car to get around. Lots of FREE parking and wifi. Breakfast is the strict minimum - coffee, juice, cereal and muffins if you get there early!! We booked via booking.com for 175$ for 2 nights which we found cheap compared to town centre prices. Thanks to the staff for this nice clean, new hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: If you can't carry luggage upstairs to 1st floor, ask for ground floor room and you can park in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grigs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    58
    25
    16
    17
See reviews for
47
79
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were driving to Austin without a hotel on a football weekend and needed help. Turned to Tripadvisor and read about Roadway Inn close to campus. It was hard to believe for the price it could be that good. IT WAS!! Rooms were so nice that we felt we were at one of the downtown higher end hotels. The plus was that the front desk was so hospitable. Jay was personality and charm, attending to all our requests! It took us 5 minutes to jump on freeway and get to the UT campus. We actually liked being away from all the congestion of downtown. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Positives:
- The check in person, Jay, is very friendly and wants to talk to you like your a member of his family when you check in, which is always good in terms of being welcomed to a hotel.

- The maid service is excellent. I watched them do a thorough cleaning of my room.

- Very close to the freeway, however, you don't hear ANY road noise.

- BIGGEST POSITIVE: THEY DO NOT RENT TO LOCALS, which means ZERO chance of the hotel being used for drugs or prostitution. Very smart move by Jay.

Negatives:

- Small bathroom.

- Breakfast is limited to cereal, muffins and orange juice.


Bottom line: This hotel is TOP 10 in Austin for a reason, which you don't really associate Rodeway Inn's with being a best hotel, however, if you give this place a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cskerl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

By far the best service of the nine hotels we stayed in across the southwest in the last three weeks. Also the least expensive. Best hotel manager I've run into. Great advice about what to do in Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snyder, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed there this weekend, great place, newly remodeled, very clean. Restaurant was VERY Good !!!! Great stay for the price. Location is good easy to get to most anything quickly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleetrucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best part is the friendly staff. Jay made my stay perfect with his personal touch. He could be seen out walking the property...on top of every aspect of this hotel business. Room was quiet and comfortable...no highway sounds despite the locale at 35 and 290. If I had to say anything about drawbacks, it would be the slim-pickings at the continental breakfast. For the value and convenient location, the Rodeway is the only place I'll ever stay in Austin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights, after extending our visit from a single nights booking.

Rooms were large, nicely decorated, very clean, and the beds were amazing. We primarily dealt with Jay, who is just as fantastic as other reviews suggest - very friendly, gave great recommendations, and did his best to help throughout the trip.

The only reasons for rating this place down is that the wifi was a bit patchy, depending on which room you're in. The bathroom is also a bit dated - recently redecorated, but looked like it had been painted not fully remodelled. These things definitely shouldn't put you off staying, as we had a great time here, just felt I should mention them in case anyone is particularly fussy.

Overall value for money is amazing, and you're in for a good nights sleep if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hw00083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites
#59 of 195 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#105 of 195 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#144 of 195 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing