We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outrageous!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barbecue

La Barbecue
Ranked #8 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a food trailer with a lot of outdoor seating.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outrageous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe how unbelievable this food was. The brisket was my favourite but the beef and pork ribs were equally as good! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamIveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    72
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Brisket and Beef Ribs Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was hands down the best brisket I have ever had!!! I like my brisket lean but tried a sample of the "fatty" meat and was stunned at how delicious it was. It melted in your mouth! My daughter had one beef rib and had a huge grin on her face. This was the best beef rib she had ever eaten! She picked the bone clean! We will be making a return 4 hour drive to Austin JUST to go to La Barbecue!!! Delicious!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SBBinMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Got here late on a Sat morning, after a Franklin's drive-by just to confirm the stories. I was maybe 20 fron the front and the couple two behind me got the "rec paper" to indicate they might be the last customer of the day. The people in line with me appreciated the free beer on this hot day but I just said "no". Was somebody complaining about free beer in an earlier post?

Got a chopped brisket sandwich for Pat and two links for me. Both were excellent - the sandwich was moist and tasty and the links were hot and spicy with a nice snap, good grind and spice mix.

The live band was fun, the tables are under shade and there is parking for maybe 20 cars in the lot, even on the other side of the line. Get here early and often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short line same quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

After seeing the line for Franklin's we decide to check out this joint knowing the owner used to work said bbq joint and where not disappointed. Free beer, Beef ribs that were out of this world, brisket like heaven, pork ribs awesome, hot guts decent. Burnt ends like beef candy, no sauce needed at this bbq joint. did i mention free beer.... to bad it was not Guinness but the brisket more than made up for their poor choice of beverage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodlover069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
297 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Beef Rids in Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Discovered La Barbecue and found the best BBQ beef ribs in Austin. The brisket, house sausage and pork ribs are 2nd to my favorite. Love both sauces & their potato salad. Line is not too bad and plenty of outside picnic table seating. The owner gave me a tour of his monster pits. If you are particular about BBQ, this place will become one of your top five. I promise!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Number1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing