We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 'interior style' Mexican food”
Review of El Naranjo

El Naranjo
Ranked #229 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Driskill
DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent 'interior style' Mexican food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Don't let the 'neighborhood construction projects' put you off, the food was wonderful, the MOLE WAS WORTH THE TRIP ALL BY ITSELF.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interior Mexico, here we come”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The best black bean soup I ever had. Thick, toasted tortilla strips, avocado chunks, spicy. Life is good. Then the fresh fish tacos came out. The fish was spicy and fresh. The coleslaw crispy and accompanying black beans full of earthy flavor. We will be back for dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueshadow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tex Mex”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

El Naranjo is an unexpected delight tucked away in the popular Rainey street section of Austin. We'd wandered in by accident and we're thrilled with what we found.

The interior is pleasing and tasteful, although our first trip (of several visits) was in the sunny outdoor patio. The drink menu was varied with excellent cocktails as well as brunch mimosas and hot chocolate. For the main course, I had mole for dinner which was outstanding. The service was also superb and I have no reservations recommending this restaurant to anyone visiting Austin.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bingo3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected and ok”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Thought it would be more like a food truck, but was a little buttoned up for the rest of Rainey Street. We had a cactus salad and a chicken mole dish, both decent but nothing to rave about. I was hoping it would feel a little more authentic and laid back inside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great lunch place on a Saturday”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great little place. Delicious hand squeezed margaritas and tomatillo enchiladas that were not greasy, as enchiladas have a tendency to be. It's not a long menu, but it seems to be a move to focus on quality over quantity - a mark of a good restaurant. No wait at all on a Saturday. There is a good outdoor sitting in the front and the back for a nice day. The vibe is interesting, a modern tex mex but in a renovated, older home.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank roth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Naranjo also viewed

 

Been to El Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing