We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thrilling and exciting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circuit of The Americas

Circuit of The Americas
Ranked #13 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thrilling and exciting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great track, well controlled and managed by employees. I attended the Moto GP and absolutely enjoyed every second of it. It offers great views of the races going on. Plus, the amphitheatre is great, and you don't have to stay in just one place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    203
    66
    19
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Super venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Impressed with so many things!
- local police controlling movement of traffic onto site - easiest event entry we've experienced!
- parking staff excellent - delightful personalities & super organized
- fantastic variety of foods - from margaritas to hamburgers, pies to frozen yoghurt - as well as drinks
- food and retail locations scattered around the track for ease of access
- air conditioned permanent restrooms - a nice treat from the porta-loos :)
And perhaps most importantly - a successful, wonderful, on time event. A great way to spend a few days!
Well done COTA! :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Venue for Racing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Now I know that this will be most relatable to you who love racing on more than an oval but I would encourage anyone who likes racing to pay this track a visit. http://circuitoftheamericas.com/f1
I attended the Inaugural MotoGP in May 2013 and plan on returning for Fomula 1 in November. This is an absolutely fantastic track for both the racing and especially for the the fans viewing. It was widely praised by last years Fomula 1 drivers. But I have seldom visited a track that provides such great views of several turns at one time, from multiple locations.
MotoGP had fewer grandstands so a general admission ticket of $89 for 3 days allowed me to catch the action from several grassy hill sides. Fomula 1 is $169 for a 3-Day general Admission pass. Kids under 12 are free. With Fomula 1 this will be reduced as up go the grandstands reducing the amount of grassy hillsides. Parking was $30 a day but you can order a weekend pass for the three days online with your race ticket. For formula there is parking but there will be a lot more people and I heard the traffic was a killer so the raceway has provided shuttles from a couple locations that are free to ticket holders. Ticket holders are notified where to go for shuttle before the race. I heard this worked well considering the amount of people. If you are driving there are special routes depending on where your tickets are.
If you want to see passing then getting seats at turns 1, 11 and 12 are the places to be. Turn 1 allows you a high view of the start/finish as they come up the steep hill to the first turn then down to the S's but also a view across the track at turn 15 and around the tower to turn 19. Seating at turn 9 gets you a view of the S's then up to turn 9 & 10 then doen the hill to hard breaking into turn 11 then the back strait where speeds get to over 200mph into turn 12. Because you can see so much of the track from these locations a good set of binoculars is revcommended. There will also be large jumbotrons all around the track in front of stands.
I suggest earplugs as it gets load. Wear comfortable shoes for walking as you will do a lot of it. No food is allowed into the track area and it is expensive at the track. If you drive you can leave a cooler in your car and go out to eat. However, water is allowed to bring in.
The people working at the gates and at the souvenir locations were great! The fans were also terrific as I had opportunities to meet people from all over. Austin is a great city as well with some great resturants. See my review of Stubbs.
So thanks to COTA and Austin for bring F1 back to the USA and build such a premier raceway. Happy Racing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“International Racing in Austin, Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

One of the most beautiful car racing tracks you will ever see is in Austin, Texas.
We watched the V8 Super Cars Austin 400 Race at COTA. It is the first time the Aussies have raced in America and what a performance they put on! We met incredible race fans from Australia, New Zealand, & Tasmania that were here to watch their favorite drivers & teams.
COTA is a first class facility with great views from all points. The personnel working the venue were very nice and helpful. Be sure to go to the top of the observation tower for an incredible panoramic view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stewinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Motor Race in a excellent circuit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A fine tuned design for racing cars and motorcycles. A lot of fun and different shows during the event. There are many locations with a magnificent view of the circuit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circuit of The Americas also viewed

 

Been to Circuit of The Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing