We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and location, could hear the neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The room was spacious with a couch and fridge, but we could not find a safe in the room. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Overall the hotel was a good deal and the location downtown was great. We could walk to 6th street easily. The only down side were the thin walls. We could here the group of guys next to us. They were being rowdy and woke us up. Other points: The hotel has a good breakfast included, but there no self parking.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank simchah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. Please note that while we do not have in-room safes, we do have lock-boxes available at the Front Desk.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Large room with a seating area which gave a sense of space. No drapes just blinds which made the room sparse and bare. Beds were comfortable but bedding was of a lower quality. The room was a little dark with a small window and just lamps. Bathroom was bright, quite large and modern - and very clean. Breakfast was included in the price and had quite a good variety. Staff were very pleasant and incredibly helpful from the reception staff, valet staff and manager who greeted us with bottled water when we waited for our car.The hotel is in a good location for plenty of restaurants nearby and access for the highway. The only thing that would prevent us from staying here again is the A/C. It's incredibly noisy and blows directly onto one of the beds. We stayed 4 nights and I don't think any of us slept properly the time we were there. Shame as otherwise it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshbabeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments and your concern. We certainly regret any discomfort or frustration caused during your stay by the air conditioning. We do take guest comments seriously and will take the opportunity to improve our services whenever possible.

We do appreciate the excellent rating and trust that you had an enjoyable time in Austin.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I checked into the hotel, got a room on the 11th floor, and hear construction noise right away. The place is surrounded by construction as you try to get into the front door. I went to the front desk and requested a full refund and went somewhere else. They did offer to comp the room totally, but I would rather stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask what floors have construction and stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank baybekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns; we are sorry to hear that our hotel and location did not meet your needs. As Austin is a quickly growing city, we do understand that at times construction in the nearby area is ongoing. We are sorry for the inconvenience but do hope that you are willing to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel overall was great. I stayed on the 15th floor and had a great view of downtown Austin. The room was very comfortable with plenty of space to put things away if you are there for a few nights or more. My bed was comfortable, and the room looked brand new. The downside... The free breakfast was not up to par (Stale and bland food), but there are tons of great restaurants within walking distance, and who stays in a hotel for the breakfast. I will say one of the best features of this hotel was the staff. they were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend staying if you have business, or perhaps pleasure in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your excellent review. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast options failed to meet your expectations but hope that you did enjoy the convenient option of free daily breakfast. We thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The HVAC unit was loud and blowing directly on the bed all night. It would loudly turn on and off throughout the night and blow directly on the bed which kept me up. When checking out they took $15 off a $200 bill. Horrible hotel and guest services.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place and thank you for providing this feedback. We are always looking to improve and feedback from our guests can help us do just that. Please know that your comments regarding air conditioning are being addressed and we hope to continue delivering a quality customer experience that will make you want to return and stay with us again. We hope you will give us another chance to prove how dedicated we are to customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great place to stay and extremely courteous staff. Walking distance to 6th street and congress bridge for the bats. Would prefer to self park rather than valet. Great value overall. Staff offered us water during our visit in Aug, outside temp was 104. Glad to have the water.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you were well taken care of and that you enjoyed your time in Austin. Safe travels and we look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have never had a better hotel experience anywhere. Every single member of the staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We were always greeted enthusiastically and everyone made it a point to make sure our needs were being met at all times. After this visit, I will not even consider staying in another hotel while visiting downtown Austin. My thanks to all of the staff that were involved in our stay there. Well done!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown and for the review. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with the team.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#11 of 203 in Austin
2,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,862 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $202 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing