We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for an Austin Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Place for a conference, and it was a great stay from start to finish. It is located just a block away from the convention center and could not have been more convenient. There are plenty of good restaurants within a short walk.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a very sleek and modern décor. The seating area with a couch and chair offered a pleasant area to sit while in the room without having to always sit at the desk or on the bed as is typical at many hotels.

The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start each day with the usual fruits, pastries, and the like along with a different breakfast sandwich everyday along with French toast.

The staff were always helpful and accommodating. Every time you walk into the hotel, someone is always there to greet you. It's a small touch, but it made it feel like home almost.

I definitely recommend the Hyatt Place if you're looking for accommodations in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you ladewig for your glowing endorsement of our hotel and the amenities we provide. We are glad to know that little "welcome back" greeting each day made you feel at home! We will share your compliments on our variety of morning hot breakfast sanwiches with our kitchen team; they work hard to ensure each morning's offering is unique and filling to start your day off right.
Warm Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,534 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel offers excellent location. The breakfast leaves something to be desired, but the restaurants in the area are top notch. Cab rides from the hotel are very reasonable if you are looking to get to the east side, Lamar, or up north. The grocery store across the street is golden, with deliciousmcoffee, pizza, sandwiches, and an abundance of Lone Star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel and that you found our location in downtown Austin to be 'in the mix!' We're glad to hear you not only enjoyed the restaurants in the area but also the well-stocked and delicious Royal Blue Grocery across the street. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just spent 4 nights here on business. The hotel is all around one of he best I've stayed in in a long time.

It's new so that helps as the appearance is very modern. My room was fantastic. For a few dollars extra I had upgraded to a corner room. Wow...it was nearly floor to ceiling glass on 2 walls. Wonderful for sunlight and viewing the vibrant area of Austin. Bed was very comfortable, great linens and pillows. Housekeeping was great too

Lobby seemed to have staff crawling over staff, each of hem very professional and very friendly. It was wonderful to be greeted each morning by so many cheerful people.

If there was anything about the stay that could have been improved it would have been check in. I arrived after 10 on a Sunday night and it seemed the front desk person was also he bartender. I stood looking at an empty front desk for nearly 10 minutes. Not a great first impression yet the balance of the stay made up for this 1 hiccup.

Room Tip: Upgrade to corner on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Darren K, we appreciate your comments, excellent review and feedback. Good call on the Corner View King room; we also think it's windows and views of downtown are the best! Sunday night must have been busy at the bar and we're sorry for the short delay in check-in. Our staff are trained in a variety of roles so that they can not only check you in, but make you a coffee or mix you a drink while providing the best sight-seeing recommendations in town. Thank you for the 5 out of 5 rating, we truly appreciate the endorsement from a respected contributor such as yourself!
With Sincere Appreciation, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I come to Austin at least once a month for business, always staying elsewhere. Had a meeting here and the organization booked us here. How delightful! This is a lovely hotel, very well planned and comfortable! The rooms are sparse, but very comfortable and each has a nice seating area! The location is prime and great amenities. Really thinking of bunking here more often!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

We appreciate your review of our hotel and we're glad to hear that you were impressed by our property and amenities! We hope that your meeting here was successful and that you have a new home-away-from-home here in downtown Austin.
Kind Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel was full of business travelers when we were there, yet the staff treated our family of four with kindness and attention. The front desk staff gave us an excellent recommendation of a nearby restaurant for dinner and the breakfast staff was extremely outgoing and nice. The location is a perfect spot in the middle of Austin to see and do all the city highlights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Jennifer V, we appreciate your comments and review! We are happy to hear that the staff not only provided the perfect recommendations but that your family felt welcomed and comfortable. We do hope that you enjoyed the sights of Austin and that our location within the heart of downtown was perfect for your sightseeing adventures!
We hope to see you again soon, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The good
Great location, restaurants by the dozens.
Wooow rooms, comfy, cozy, excellent tech. Exc bed, good shower. BIG high tech TV.
Grrrreat, happy staff, good reactive car jockey.
Good breakfast

The bad
Nothing

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you Rybremnazoe for the great review of our hotel! It's great to see a 5 out of 5 endorsement from an Top Contributor such as yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Austin.
Best Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Property is located near a good selection of restaurants and convenience stores. Clean facilities and property overall. Nice quiet room. The complimentary breakfast was a nice benefit. Loved the staff who universally made us feel welcome and valued.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Stuart R:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are truly pleased to share your kind words with our staff. They take such pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and the property overall, I know they will be very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

And thank you for the great feedback on the breakfast and the room, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great amenities we offer.

We do hope to see you next time you are in our great city.
Kindest Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 203 in Austin
2,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,860 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $190 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing