We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights for a conference. Super friendly and attentive staff, nice clean comfortable room, and a nice hot breakfast every morning. Best stay in a long time. Close to the conference center and lots of great Austin restaurants and BBQ.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank jguillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Jguillet:

What a wonderful review, thank you for the great feedback. Nice to hear that you were able to find some time to get out and explore our amazing city during your conference. Our location is amazing, being just steps away from the Austin Convention Center and many wonderful restaurants.

We will be sure to share your review with our staff during the next staff meeting. We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,545 - 1,551 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We went to Austin to go to the IHeart Country Music Festival. We wanted a hotel that was close to the venue and 6th street. This hotel had it all. The only I would suggest is better selection in their bar. The staff was excellent. Rooms were very clean and very comfortable. Will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Austin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for the great review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Austin! We look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hyatt Place Austin was the perfect choice for a five day Austin vacation. Central location allowed us to walk to enterainment, shopping, historic points of interest and restaurants. Staff was focused on guest satisfaction. Room was large with comfortable beds. Room and hotel were extremely clean. The breakfast buffet was convenient with plenty of choices and great coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 531susana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for such a great review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that your 5 days in Austin were made comfortable and enjoyable by our hotel staff and amenities. We will be sure to share you comments with our teams who word hard each day to ensure all guests feel at home!
Warm Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Saying I was impressed understates how top notch this staff was. Warm, friendly, accommodating, trust worthy and fun to be around. Rooms were very once and the hotel location is great to do see the sights and activities of Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Marcia S:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on our staff. We would have to agree with you that the staff is amazing, and I know they will enjoy reading the review as well. We hope to see you again if you make it back to the Austin area.

Kindest regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great hotel for business travelers. Walking distance to convention center, 6th Street, Colorado River walkway, and Red River district. Staff is very friendly, rooms are nice and comfortable, and there is a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Melissa L:

Thank you very much for the great five star review on our hotel, we appreciate your feedback on our location and the free breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Austin area.

Kindest regards,
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

You can't argue with the value delivered by the Hyatt Place at the price they charge. The staff were just great, free breakfast and good Wi-Fi, nice rooms that are recent (like the hotel), good showers and beds, and clean. Sure, it might not have all of the facilities that might be the norm for a downtown city hotel but the combination presented here is perfectly acceptable for most people who pay a visit over a few days to Austin. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear 12Knocksinna:

Thank you for the "excellent" review you wrote about your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and enjoyed reading about how you enjoyed the location and the staff. We hope you will return to us the next time you are in the Austin area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of our best hotel experiences ever! First off, the staff is very friendly and helpful. From the valet to the dining help, everyone was fabulous. Our room was very nice and clean. Well decorated and in very nice condition. The "Heavenly" bed was just that, heavenly. The hotel is right in the downtown and walking distance to everything. Right across the street is a little market for sandwiches, drinks, and snacks.. The breakfast buffet was included, and was very good. They also have a gym and pool, but I wasn't able to check those out on this trip.
Next time we're in Austin, this is where we'll be. Thanks Hyatt!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Logguy:

What a fantastic review of our hotel.. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be Super SUPER clean. I know our housekeeping staff will love to hear about your great review. They take so much pride in the hotel rooms and the detail of each and every one, they will be delighted that we share this with them.

And thank you for the feedback on the rest of the hotel as well, we love that you enjoyed the breakfast, our location, and Royal Blue accross the street.

Hope to see you soon.
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 204 in Austin
1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $198 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing