We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

By far the nicest most friendly staff that have ever had at a hotel including the maids. We had a towel sculpture on our bed 2 of the 3 nights (a rabbit and a heart). The rooms are great with a sleeper sofa, comfortable bed and pillows. Very close to the convention center and 6th street. The free breakfast included breakfast sandwiches as well as fruit, and pastries. I felt very secure as well. You had to use your room key to get the elevator to work. I have another convention next month in Austin and immediately booked this hotel. This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Austin, maybe anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Sherrie G:

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review on our property. Our staff receives many great comments, and we often see photos of some of the art that the housekeepers create...AMAZING.

We are glad to hear that you loved he location as well, we hope to see you on your next visit to our city.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    373
    72
    25
    15
See reviews for
272
297
45
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Every member of the staff with whom we interacted was wonderful! The hotel was exceptionally clean, the free wifi was a great bonus, and we were very happy with our entire stay. Sam at the front desk was especially kind and welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Katie A:

Thank you for the kind response to your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the staff and will be sure to share your recent review with them (especially Sam). Thank you so much for the great recommendation, we truly value what our guests think of the hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to our great city.

Kindest regards
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'll quickly say that the room was fine. Exactly what you'd expect from a Hyatt. What I want to talk about is the staff.

I organized a company soccer game, occurring AFTER we checked out of the hotel. We all had facilities in which to shower before getting on the plane home, but none of us had towels. The hotel trusted us to give us 14 towels with the promise that we would return them later. They did it without hesitation. They also found Tylenol for my friend with a headache and didn't charge.

We were there a week, and every time we entered or left there was a warm greeting and an offer to help with anything.

The only downside of the hotel is that the only parking is via valet. So you occasionally wait for your car, and you have to tip every time you get your car (well, you should). If you go in and out a lot, that can add up.

Very nice free breakfast every morning with lots of options. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT COFFEE. I wondered if it was legal.

I would absolutely stay again.

Green Features: They have that sign like all hotels seem to have these days: if you want your towel cleaned, leave it on the ground. If you want to save water, hang it up.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Scott M:

Well first off, I want to say how much I love the title of your review. We like to think of our staff as heroes as well, however it is fantastic to hear when our guests feel the same.

Sounds like you had quite the weekend with a soccer game to end it all, we are glad that we could help with your last minute request. Our staff is just amazing, they naturally just like to take care of our guests. We are extremely lucky.

And yes, the coffee is great and I assure you it is legal :)

Hope to see you on your next trip to our city.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed at Hyatt Place for a convention. It is a very close walk to the convention center and close to several great restaurants. The hotel staff is so friendly. The hotel restaurant has a good variety and the morning breakfast choices are great. There are many healthy options, not just waffles and pastries. I would love to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Karen H:

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you liked our location and the close proximity to the convention center. With the center being only a quick block walk away, our location is most ideal. Also, with all the great restaurants that are within walking distance, you really get to find some wonderful options.

We would love to see you return.
Kindest regards
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

From the moment I checked in until the moment I checked out, I had no problems at all with the Hyatt Place. The staff was ALL very nice and accommodating for absolutely anything I needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay somewhere in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Meredith S:

Thank you for the wonderful five star rating on our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us and we hope we get to see you on your next trip to Austin. And also thank you for the recommendation, it is fantastic that you are spreading the word about our property.

Kindest regards,
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My experience was great. Excellent and friendly staff. Room was clean and smelled clean. The front desk staff was always trying to help. They continually addressed me by my name. Dining was great too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EGHD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear EGHD4:

We would like to thank you for the review you posted on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of the staff. It would be with pleasure that we share your review with our staff.

Kindest regards and hope to see you again
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was very impressed with my stay here. The rooms are large, quite clean and well-appointed and I appreciated having extra amenities like the in-room refrigerator and coffeemaker. The bed was very comfortable. Especially impressive was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful. Great downtown location, walkable to many things, though we went three times to Max's Wine Dive across the street just because we loved it so much (and it's open really late!). That a (very good) breakfast buffet is also included is another bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear LJoy:

Thank you for the great review of the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We love to hear that our guests would recommend our property based on their experience during their recent stay. And it is amazing that we are only 31 steps from Max's Wine Dive, we love the food there as well. Thank you also for the great comments on the staff. We take great pride in everyone that works in our hotel from the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the valet. Please know that we value what our guests think of the hotel.

Kindest regards
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing