We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,841)
Filter reviews
1,841 results
Traveler rating
1,273
425
93
32
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
425
93
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centergreat locationaustin downtownvalet parkingwithin walking distancefree breakfastvalet staffindoor poolcorner roomrestaurants and barsroom was spacioussitting areaa great stayrainey streetwonderful hotellady bird lakeoatmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,681 - 1,686 of 1,841 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four adults and four kids/teenagers took off after Christmas to see Austin for a day. Hotel has a great location, the rooms were clean (they looked new) and spacious, the staff was wonderful and accomodating (they managed to give us three rooms in a row with two of them connecting). the staff was very helpful with local information and just overall very attentive. Only downside was the street/construction noise. We were on the eighth floor.

Room Tip: We had 803, 805 and 807. 803 is ADA accessible so is extra large. The JW Marriott is being built in the next block. Might ask to be located away from that area until construction is done.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Dean D:

How wonderful you and the family were able to take a little day vacation to our great city. We are definitely in the heart of it all if you are looking to experience Austin. Our staff is wonderful and take great pride in all the fun things there are to do here.

Please come and visit us again the next time you are in Austin. We would love to have you stay with us again.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Clean quiet Friendly. Staff was very knoleadgeable of the area.Location was cloase to all facilities. Food very good. Shopping close and convienent. Rooms very comfirtiable and clean. Staff friendly and remembered you each day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Bette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Bette N:

What a lovely review, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We do get many great comments on our staff and I know they will enjoy reading your review. It seems like you were able to enjoy your time in our city, hopefully you had some great memories and you will come back to us the next time you are in the Austin area.

Kindest regards
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

There is nothing special about this hotel but it was clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located just two blocks from the bars and stores on 6th street and about a 20 minute walk across the bridge to SoCo. The other good thing about this hotel were the staff, who were extremely friendly, helpful and generous. Breakfast was OK without being outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GummyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Gummy Shark:

Thank you for the recent review on your stay at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel as we value the experiences of our guests. Our goal is to create a wonderful experience to our guests, so thank you for sharing your experience wtih us.

Our location is amazing, being only blocks away from all the great bars and restaurants in the downtown area. We enjoy hearing that our guests found some fun things to do in our city. Especially that you were able to experience South Congress, one of my favorite spots.

We thank you for your feedback, and hope you come and see us again on your next visit to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fellow Travelers:
It will be difficult to put into words the experience I had last week while staying at the Hyatt in downtown Austin. We entered the hotel as strangers and were immediately greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm it lifted our weary spirits. A woman at the front desk, Muna, smiled at us with such delight and greeted us as if we were her favorite relatives. She said that she was so happy that we were staying with Hyatt and if there was anything she could do, not to hesitate to let her know. During my stay I saw her greet people with genuine warmth and happiness time after time, coming around from behind the desk to hand each guest their key. She bathed everyone in her glowing cordiality, exhibiting for me, a woman who has traveled the world, the meaning of true hospitality. Here is a woman who is clearly in her element, a treasure in an industry in which kindness and enthusiasm cannot easily be taught. What she brings to each day of work is, if I were Ms. or Mr. Hyatt, what I would be seeking and prizing in any employee.
Yes, the hotel is nice, it's clean, it's convenient and well designed, and yes, Austin is a remarkable city, but what will stay with me, always, from my vacation there, is the reception we got each time we walked through the door and Muna was on duty. Her passion and spirit is infectious; the staff each spoke of how special she is, how much they enjoy working with her, how unique she is. And we enjoyed meeting and speaking with many others on the Hyatt staff: India, Mary, Jane, your lovely and efficient manager, Brett, the staff that served us breakfast each day: Lauren and Sergio. There's just a good feeling with good people at this place.
Of course, there is so much to do in Austin! Music, music, music and music!!! Tons of restaurants, and, if you drive a little while, some hills to climb and outstanding BBQ at Salt Lick in Driftwood, TX. If you stay here, I hope you'll have this staff, especially Muna, to come home to...I'm sure she'll be a manager in no time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodBrisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear GoodBrisket:

I have read over your review about 20 different times, each time with a bigger smile on my face as I love hearing about the way our staff left an impression on you. Thank you so very much for your kind words on each of them. I do know that Muna will be so very delighted to hear that she impacted your stay as much as she did. The rest of the staff will definitely enjoy hearing their names mentioned as well since it is very seldom so many of them are mentioned by name in one review.

I agree with you wholeheartedly. The experience in travel is about the people you meet and how they leave an impression with you days, weeks, even months after you return home.

Please know that this review will forever stay with our staff, each and every one of them. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. We would love to say thank you in person.

Warmest regards
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a new hotel and was priced less than other older hotels in downtown Austin, perhaps because it was not as well known. Highly recommended. The overnight parking is pricey, $23, but that's around the market rate for downtown and for that money you have very convenient access directly from the garage floors to your guest level without having to stop through the lobby. The room on the 16th floor was a bit noisier than expected, though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Explosivo1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Vasanth B:

Thank you for submitting a review regarding your recent visit to the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We are pleased to hear that you will be highly recommending our hotel, that is great news. We hope that you will come and stay with us again the next time you are in the Austin area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews