We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We go to Austin frequently and this is always our favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We go to Austin frequently and this is always our favorite”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our son and grandson live in Austin, so go 4-6 times a year.
Austin is a great town with awesome restaurants and terrible and I mean terrible traffic.
Hyatt Place is conveniently located on I-35 and is quiet, friendly, and easy to get in and out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
bbahama:

Thank you for the wonderful rating on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin to see your family.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    371
    72
    25
    13
See reviews for
271
296
45
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Put here when Hilton garden inn downtown over booked and had no room for me. Check in was slow but it was the night staff that was on. The room was large and spacious, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large,clean and well appointed. The free breakfast had a good variety. This hotel is clearly set up for business travellers and was close to the convention centre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Andrew R:

Thank you for the recent Trip Advisor review on our property, we always enjoy hearing feedback from our guests on their recent stays.

Although you came to us as a result of another hotel being sold out, we are glad to hear that you found us at our brand new hotel. The guest rooms receive so much great feedback, we are so proud of the lay out and decor of our hotel. We are definitely set up for business travlers but we also cater to those on vacation as well.

We hope you choose us on your next trip to Austin, we would love to see you back with us again.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt for two nights, while visiting Austin for a conference. Pros: Nice, new hotel; well-appointed rooms with large TV, fridge, desk, couch/sitting area; very friendly and helpful staff; within walking distance of many sites and restaurants; nice indoor pool with showers; excellent exercise room; easy in-room access to the internet and computers in the lobby for printing a boarding pass; good security features (including key-only access to the elevators). Cons: The air conditioner vent in my (standard) room was pointing directly at the bed; the fan blew cold air into my face intermittently as the AC cycled on and off. Torture! I finally turned it off, but woke up roasting in the middle of the night. My room was on the 6th floor and other people on the same floor complained about the same problem (some tried sleeping with blankets and/or pillows over their heads!). I loved the hotel otherwise but wouldn't stay there again. Other much smaller quibbles: no room safe, no water (or anything else) in the fridge.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms on the 6th floor--the AC blows in your face all night.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CatskillsWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear CatskillsWriter:

Thank you so very much for your review on our hotel during your recent stay in Austin. We would first like to say how much we appreciate your feedback as it is our goal to ensure that our guests truly enjoy every element of their stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the amenities of the hotel from the pool to the excercise area. And how nice to hear about how well the staff took care of you during your trip, they are great at offering suggestions to the surrounding restaurants and sites.

In reference to the air conditioner, we are sorry that you experienced an issue with the air blowing directly on you. We have this on our priority list for the guest rooms and are actually working on a system that will change this and offer our guests a much better nights sleep. We do hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to Austin as we would love to have you return.

Many thanks
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hyatt Place Austin is a newly opened (March 2013) which offers spacious, nicely appointed rooms, helpful and friendly staff, and great location. What more do you need? This is not a "Full Service" hotel with room service, fancy restaurant, etc. But it is just right for attending a conference, doing business or just visiting. We had a great room with large section sofa that held a fold-up bed. It was exactly as represented in the photos on the website.

Front desk was great about recommendations to restaurants and even provided a discount coupon for brunch at a nearby spot since our room was not ready when we checked in. The gentleman who checked us in was clearly proud of this new property - rightfully so!

Nice Stay - would do it again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: End of the hall rooms are a bit larger. Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Patay1:

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay downtown. We receive many compliments on our hotel and especially the staff. They do feel so much pride in their property and it shows when they talk to the guests.

And how wonderful that you enjoyed the guest rooms. Each and every one of our rooms has the cozy sofa that pulls out into a sofa bed, it doesn't matter which floor or room you get. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable while staying with us.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in Austin for the NFDA Convention and were unable to get into the Convention Hotel and how lucky for us. The hotel is very near the convention center and in walking distance of many great restaurants. The Moonshine Grill should be a "must" for anybody visiting Austin. The staff was always helpful and accommodating anything you might need or want. If ever we go back to Austin that is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jenny A:

Thank you kindly for the great five star rating on your recent trip to the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We loved having the group here in the hotel and are glad that you found the location to be convenient for your meetings at the convention center. I am so glad that you were able to try out one of our favorite restaurants, Moonshine. I find this restaurant to be great and it is just a short walk from our hotel.

Please come and see us again on your next trip to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here the night before I took a client to the Texas Medical Board and, of course, this was a perfect location just down the street. Nice hotel. Rooms are good sized and modern and clean. Typical business hotel. At $400 a night you would expect something to munch on in the room or room service. This hotel has neither. You can go downstairs and pick up a sandwich, etc. though. Still, I had a late night meeting the night before and it would've been nice to be able to order up room service. As I think about it, I don't think I've stayed at a downtown business hotel that didn't offer room service. Okay, enough about room service. The bar is small, too. And, there's no restaurant, though they do offer breakfast. It does have 24 hour exercise and pool. And, it's right by the convention center, which can be good or bad. Probably won't stay here for business purposes again as I often have to meet a worried and anxious client the night before and being able to order up service is a common amenity that this otherwise nice hotel doesn't have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank edwardsjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Edwardsjbe:

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel, we do appreciate all your feedback on your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the guest room and the location of the hotel, especially being so close to the office you travelled to.

We also appreciate your comments on the room service. Since we are a select service hotel, the Hyatt Place Brand does not include room service in any of our locations. We do hope that you found value in being able to place your order in our guest kitchen 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We also understand that room service is an amenity that is important to many of our guests and we will make sure to share this information with our management staff as we value what our guests are looking for in a hotel.

Hopefully, on your next trip to Austin, you will look us up and stay with us again.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is great. Very clean. Nice decor. The location is perfect! Walking distance to a lot of great restaurants, the convention center and the bat bridge. The breakfast is the typical free breakfast. High on carbs, low on protein.

I could hear very clearly what was going on in the room next to me and the hallway noise was pretty noticeable also. That wasn't so good.

The beds were amazing. I slept great.

There is a small fridge in the room. Never got cold though as much as I adjusted it. The gym was nice. The pool is very small and there is no hot tub. The way that it is setup, the people working out can exercise and stare at you while you swim.

Last night I went to the "restaurant/bar" in the hotel. I sat down, but no one ever greeted me. Maybe you have to make your order at the front desk. I wasn't sure. They were too busy to ask, so I just went across the street instead to have a drink and a meal.

Other than not being greeted in their restaurant, the rest of the staff was very nice. Very helpful.

I think the place is a bit pricey, but it is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777zba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear LS

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. First of all, let me start by saying how much we appreciate you sharing your experience with us on all the different areas of the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the bed, I would agree with you on the comfort level as I hear many great comments on the Hyatt Grand Bed. I do apologize that you experienced noise while in your guest room. Hopefully you reached out to the front desk or to security and mentioned it so we could get it taken care of right away.

I am also sorry to hear about your experience in our gallery. We definitely have the expectation that our guests be greeted whether they are at a table or at the bar within moments of sitting down. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our operations manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review, it is feedback like this that helps us improve the guest experience completely.

We do hope that you will return your next trip to the Austin Area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 199 in Austin
1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 199 in Austin
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing