We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel over Labor Day weekend. It is in a great location in downtown Austin. There are good restaurants close by and it is in walking distance to the South Congress Bridge. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff was helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Gail324:

We would like to say thank you for your review on our hotel during your trip to Austin over Labor Day weekend. We most definitely have a great location if you want to check out shopping, great restaurants, live music or just do sight seeing. Hopefully you were able to peak around the great stores on Congress Avenue, there is so much to choose from.

Thank you for your great comments on the guest rooms and staff as well. We truly value the opinions of our guests and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    389
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
280
304
47
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My father and I went to the International Sports Car Weekend at Circuit of the Americas from September 19-23. We wanted a moderately-priced, clean, secure hotel in Downtown to relax in after several big days. Not only was this hotel perfectly placed in Downtown, but it's rooms were spacious and very comfortable. No complaints... everything worked perfectly. Also, the breakfast is very good quality. The ONLY qualm I have is that there is no hotel restaurant, but then again, it's surrounded by many top-quality chain restaurants so it wouldn't quite make sense. All in all, incredibly smooth and a great experience. I highly recommend...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Beck D:

What a fantastic review, thank you very much. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to catch a race at the track here in Austin, what a great experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice while in our great city with your father. Our location is most ideal if you want to truly experience what our great city has to offer or dine in any of our fantastic restaurants that are only steps away from our front door.

The rooms are very spacious, indeed. We hope you were able to kick back and relax after a long day at the track in our cozy corner couch.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff;hotel was extremely clean and well kept; great location- near downtown restaurants, entertainment and shopping. Room rates below comparable hotels downtown; this will be by first choice for Austin hotels in the future. Valet parking a little expensive - the only minor negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JohnC1946:

We thank you for your kind five star review of our hotel on your recent visit to the city of Austin. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the staff to be helpful. We take great pride in every one of our staff members and love hearing about how they are taking care of our guests.

We look forward to your return to our great city and hope that you were able to experience some of the great restaurants and attractions that Austin has to offer.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean, and near everything down town has to offer. You can walk to all the places to eat, the hot spots, bars, and only one block from the convention center.
The staff is very helpful and they go the extra mile to take care of any requests.
The ONLY thing this hotel needs is an outdoor pool, the pool is indoor.
The selection of restaraunts is awesome/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Steve H:

Thank you so much for the great five star review of our property. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our great city. Our location is fantastic whether you are here to vacation or for a business trip.

We also thank you for the kind words on the staff, they love to read the reviews so we will make sure to share it with them. As far as the outdoor pool is concerned, we have definitely added that to our considerations for future projects.

Many thanks
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for a week with family.
Staff from front desk, breakfast, room service and housekeeping were brilliant.
Superb room, breakfast and great sports facilities.
Access to Soco and area around 6th Street is very good.
No problems re parking either.
Will look to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Andzej K:

We are so pleased to read your review on your recent stay at our hotel. The staff is amazing and we love to hear that you felt well taken care of. Hopefully on your next trip to Austin we can see you again. There is never a shortage of great things to do in our wonderful city, we are so glad we were able to be a part of your trip.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice and both stays have been excellent! I used to stay down the street at another major hotel that charges more and is not as service oriented. The staff here is very kind, helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. What more can you ask for?!?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Steve Y:

Thank you for the great five star review!!! It is nice to hear that you returned a second time, we love to hear that!!

The staff is amazing, we never get tired of hearing about that. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to your next visit.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location. Lots of construction surrounding businesses. GREAT CITY!
Parking is about $22 a day.
Rooms large and smell wonderful! No allergy issues. Beds fanatastic. Pool and fitness area clean. Great FREE breakfast. Staff so friendly! Can't say enough. FREE WIFI.
Bat bridge, 6th st, and Soco all equidistant. Riverboat cruise nearby and it takes you right under the bat bridge. ( Lonestar riverboat cruises)
Don't miss 6th st. Unreal!
GOT TO SEE ESTHER FOLLIES. NON STOP FUN ... Magic, singing, jokes. Book online for a reserved seat! They have a bar and snack food. GOTTA SEE.
Did not see Museum of the Weird on 6th St. Mixed review from people. Internet gave bad review but others said it pretty good.
Pay to Park all over the city even on 6th St.
Even the state house was quite a sight.
City gets moving late. We missed Saturday morning street fairs on Soco because start around noon. But nighttime is hopping!
Have fun !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Connie B:

Wow, what an amazing review of our great city. You definitely listed all of the amazing things there are to do in Austin. How wonderful you were able to do so much.

The staff is indeed very friendly, I am glad that you found them helpful and enjoyed the free breakfast. It is quite the amenity to our amazing hotel.

We hope you return to our hotel on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,988 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing