We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Hyatt Place Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were very happy during our stay at Hyatt Place Austin. The hotel is really new. All staff members were so friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty big, modern, confortable, with a lot of details and all kind of stuffs you would need in your stay. They have a great gym and a small indoor pool. They offer dialy buffet breakfast with a limited selection of food but enough to take a bite. Parking is about $20 (self parking). We´d repeat it in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilovetravelandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Ilovetravelandfood:

Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the guest rooms and the amenities of the hotel. We agree that our staff is fantastic and very helpful, we will be sure to share your review with the team.

Our gym and breakfast do receive a lot of great comments, we are delighted that you were able to partake in some of the great amenities we offer at our property.

Hopefully we will be able to see you on your next trip to Austin.

Many thanks
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,734 - 1,740 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was excellent at all times here.
Great walking location close to lots of good places.

The hotel was just ok but for $160.00 a night seems like it could have been better.
The lobby is boring and plain, no good bar to hang out in.
The beds are comfy but the bathroom shower could be cleaner, the grout looked dirty and the toilet smelled funny all weekend.

The hair dry they provide is AWFUL! Only has a low speed and doesn't get hot just mild.

I see other complaining about a/c, we didn't have an issue with this but the a/c unit front was falling off.

Valet is 29 a day or self park 25.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wherecanwegonext23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Wherecanwegonext23

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel as we are always looking to deliver the best guest experience we can. I have printed the review and reviewed it with our maintenance staff and housekeeping department to ensure that the concerns you mentioned are addressed. We do recognize the importance of guest comments and will be sure to look into all the items mentioned.

We are happy you enjoyed the location of our property and found the staff to be helpful during your stay. We would love to have you return on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Looking over previous reviews I can see that some people had similar experiences to mine with the air conditioner. In our upgraded corner room on the 9th floor, the A/C was extremely loud (weird as it sounds, our A/C sounded like someone was standing by the wall with a thin sheet of steel making wave or ripple sounds). The air emitted was also a very sticky cold air. It seemed like instead of taking moisture out of the air like an A/C is supposed to do, it was actually putting moisture into the air like a swamp cooler does.

The upside to the loud A/C is that it *almost* drowned out the street noise wafting up. I sleep with really good earplugs, but I could still hear sirens (four in one night!), motorcycles, large trucks, and once dawn broke, construction noise.

I am a Hyatt guy, and because I am a Platinum member they upgraded me to this 9th floor room. It didn't feel like an upgrade, but obviously your experience may differ. This is a very new property and is the second largest Hyatt Place in the US. Aesthetically and cosmetically, it is in great shape. And their morning breakfast is better than any other Hyatt Place I have stayed in.

My advice is to ask for a room that has had no complaints of A/C noise and a room that isn't a corner room with two walls of windows (so as to reduce street noise). This was the worst night of sleep my wife and I have probably ever had in a hotel (I didn't fall asleep until 4am), but if you get the right room (a quiet one with a properly functioning A/C), there is no reason why your stay can't be a great one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has received no complaints about the A/C or external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank braziliansoccerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and most of all thank for your continued Hyatt loyalty. We have taken your input regarding your room experience and followed up on it with our engineering team. They have made adjustments to ensure the next experience is a comfortable one. We have also spent some additional time with our staff and security team to proactively work on keeping exterior noises to a minimum. While we cannot control all external factors, our goal is to do whatever we can in order to make your stay a pleasant and comfortable experience. Thanks again for allowing us to respond and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great Hotel situated perfectly.
Frontline staff excellent and very friendly.
Rooms nice and comfortable.

Let downs
(1)No room service
(2)Very limited bar choices and a very strong reluctance for management to change this.

In summary wouldn't recommend for business travellers

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Des J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Des J:

We appreciate your recent review of our hotel and are pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly.

Your feedback regarding the room service has been communicated to our management team. We are always welcome to suggestions of what our guests would like to see in our hotel and apologize if you felt any reluctance when this was discussed. It is our goal to listen to each and every guest and focus on what we can do to improve everyday.

It would be wonderful if you would consider us again on your next visit to Austin and again, we appreciate your feedback.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I just stayed for four nights in this brand new hotel. It only opened in March 2013. The place is fantastic, The staff are extremely responsive, the included breakfast is awesome. Many types of foods with ample seating. The rooms all have fridges and the water pressure is excellent. This only a block from the convention center and there are about 8 difference restaurants within a half block with a varied diversity of foods from Mexican to Tai to steak and fish. The lobby has nice seating areas and there are computers available free of charge and there is free Wi-Fi through the entire hotel It also has incredible security which requires a special key card that only allows a person to go to the floor where they are staying or the gym or pool floor. This place is a gem!!!

Room Tip: The double rooms are considerably bigger than the king rooms, so if you like to spread out, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Patrick:

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the staff and felt well taken care of. We take great pride in the services you mentioned such as the great free breakfast buffet, the spacious guest rooms and our fantastic staff. It means a great deal to us that you felt safe and secure while on property with us.

We look forward to sharing your review with our team and hope to see you on your next trip in to Austin.

Best regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We parked in the attached garage and was promptly checked into our 18th floor room. The lobby was clean, contemporary yet welcoming and the room was perfect. Clean dominates at this hotel. The room was well equipped, spacious with a couch, desk. closet, flatscreen, concealed frig, ice bucket and glasses, not the plastic type. Bathroom was again spotless, and had everything we wanted including toothpaste, spacious with room to store all your stuff. Very nice. Great location with restaurants and shops surrounding the hotel, this is the place to stay. Within walking distance of the Congress Bridge where at dusk you can watch the bats emerge into the sky!! We stopped at the bar for a glass of wine before heading to our room and Jane was perfect, funny, engaging and insightful. If there was a downside it would be the indoor pool. You can't go wrong with the Hyatt Downtown Austin!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Sparty80:

Thank you for the wonderful comment on our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and comment on the cleanliness of the hotel and the great location. There is so much to see and do within steps of our hotel, we are glad you were able to take part in the congress street bridge and some of the great restaurants in the area. We agree the rooms are very spacious and includes some amazing amenities.

Your comment will be shared with the staff, especially Jane. She is a fantastic part of our staff and I know she will appreciate reading your review.

Many thanks, and know that we will keep your comment about the indoor pool in our thoughts for any future projects.

Many thanks and hope to see you again.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Austin downtown week of July 21, 2013. Loved the cleanliness, spaciousness and arrangement of the room, the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and the healthy take on breakfast offerings. What a pleasant surprise and a hotel I would highly recommend. If I could change one thing it would be to add some of my favorite channels to the cable tv line up (HGTV, Food Network, Hallmark). I missed my favorite shows here because of the somewhat limited selection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HickoryHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

HickoryHoney:

Thank you for the great five star rating of our hotel. We are glad you loved the rooms and the spaciousness of them. The staff, we agree, is fantastic, and we receive so many wonderful reviews of them. We welcome the suggestions on the channels that you would love to have added, you just happen to watch my favorite networks too!!

We look forward to having you return to us the next time you are in Austin.
Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 204 in Austin
1,883 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $203 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing