We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff in new conveniently located facility!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderfully located to experience all aspects of Austin,Texas. Music,shopping and great restaurants reasonably priced.
Wonderful hotel for for a large group with a central bar and lobby. Rooms may include breakfast which is worth it.
The staff was great to deal with!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAR424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Sar424:

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Our location is such an ideal spot for truly experiencing the great city of Austin, whether it be a solo trip or with a convention. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and will make sure to share your review with each of them. We look forward to your return on your next trip to Austin.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,684 - 1,690 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I fly to Austin for business many times per year and tried out this new hotel with a co-worker while in Austin on business the evening of July 17th. We arrived after a 5 hour flight delay (on the tarmac, no AC) and a horrible taxi ride (also no AC). The guys at the front check in desk (wish I had gotten their names) not only gave us welcoming greetings and checked us in quickly, but after hearing our story they insisted that we move over to the bar area so they could serve us ice water and then wine (just what we needed!). We couldn't have been happier with this hotel - the staff was super friendly, the rooms were extra large, new and spacious, the AC worked wonderfully, the bed was super comfy, and the morning breakfast was perfect. I came back to work and booked this hotel again for my stay in Austin next week and will try to stay there every time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Debi K:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad that we were able to bring a better close to a not so great travel day. I agree that our rooms are very comfortable, exactly what you needed after a long day between airports and taxi's. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Austin.

Best regards,
They Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Downtown Austin Hyatt Place is fabulous. My friends and I went to Austin for a long weekend to get away and let loose. The staff at the Hyatt could not have been nicer or more helpful in anyway that we needed them. They were quick to recommend restaurants and bars, and every recommendation was exactly how they described it. The hotel is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, and the renowned 4th and 6th street bars.

The hotel is brand new with great clean rooms and a wecolming lobby/restaurant as you enter the hotel.

I will definitely stay at the Hyatt Place when I return on my next trip to Austin!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Scott B.
Thanks for taking the time to write in and share your comments regarding your recent stay in Austin. Sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy your time off. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Brad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the new (March, 2013) Hyatt Place Austin Downtown for three nights to attend a trade show at the nearby Austin Convention Center. Location was perfect; less than a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center, which was much appreciated in the 99 degree weather!

Hotel is new, fresh and modern. Bell and Desk staff is phenomenal; typically Texan which means friendly, welcoming and helpful - but not sickeningly so. Just the right amount of hospitality.

Lounge area is small but perfect. The "Grab and Go" selection of prepared foods is great and the coffee bar fantastic. Complimentary breakfast should satisfy anyone: eggs, waffles, cold and hot cereal, the standard breakfast pastries, lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. No complaints here - not your typical continental breakfast.

Rooms are spacious; I had a standard King which appeared to be handicapped-accessible. Lighting is great; work area most than spacious. Bed is typical Hyatt: comfy and with nice linens.

Now, the downside. The air conditioning in my 8th floor room was beyond unacceptable. It literally sounded like a 747 was coming in for a landing. If I tried to reduce the air volume, nothing changed. It was either deal with it - or swelter. Unfortunately, not only was the noise annoying, but the vent is tilted in such a way that the air blows directly on your head. Unless you pull the covers over your head. Really, really annoying, particularly in a brand-spanking new property.

To be fair, I merely mentioned this at the Front Desk and did not request a change of rooms. The desk clerk said that they are getting a lot of complaints and did offer to change my room, as he said that it seemed any room below the 6th floor seemed to be fine. Since I was already settled and wasn't planning to spend a lot of time in the room, I thanked him, but declined.

I would give the Hyatt Place Austin 5 stars if not for the AC issue. I'm sure they will work on it as they will continue to get complaints until it is resolved. Besides that, the place is great and I would stay there again - but I'd check the AC unit in my room, first!

Room Tip: Lower level floors are said to have quieted A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAdventure11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Miss Adventure,
We appreciate your business and your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your report gave us some great insight into many areas and perspectives of our guests. Sounds like you enjoyed the location and the amenities. Since you reported the AC issue to the staff I and certain they recorded it and had our engineering team investigate. Again, thank you for choosing Hyatt. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you come back to stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Brad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

06/05/2013 - Newer downtown hotel. We were staying on 'points' and Had a great experience. 18th floor, corner room with a great view. Staff was great. self parked in parking garage right at elevator to hotel. Good location with lots of restaurants nearby. I love this brand and this was the best of the best! Hope to return to Austin soon.

Room Tip: I suggest you use the self parking because it is so convenient and saves a few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Ann T.
Thanks for staying with us on your recent trip to Austin and thanks for such kind words. Glad you enjoyed the Staff, our location, convenient parking and the view. Come on back and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Brad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review after I was inspired to review this Hyatt Place hotel following the brilliant stay we enjoyed!

We stayed here in March 2013 a couple of weeks after the hotel had opened for an overnight stay in Austin. We wanted to be located downtown and the hotel was conveniently located for us, near to all of the popular tourist spots (Town Lake, 6th Street, Capitol Building to name a few..)

We had not booked in advance ahead of our trip to Austin and only spotted the hotel when driving past. We stopped by the hotel reception on the off chance they might have availability and the very friendly hotel staff managed to sort out a great last minute room at a great rate for us so we were pleased.

The hotel is brand new and well equipped with modern furnishings and amenities. When the porter showed us to our room he informed us that we were the first guests ever to stay in that particular room, so it was a real treat to stay in a spotless, new room!

The beds were so comfortable and our room had a comfy corner sofa (with an extra sofa blanket - a nice touch), adding a homely touch to this business hotel.

Top marks to all the staff who were so friendly and attentive and obviously motivated to make this new hotel a success.

Our rate was very competitive particularly as it included buffet breakfast and the valet parking was fairly reasonable too.

If your looking for a place to stay in Austin, word of advice that on previous trips we had stayed in the Hampton Inn next door which had terrible soundproofing issues, and at the Radisson by Town Lake which had horrible, tired rooms and rude service - so the Hyatt Place hotel was such a pleasant contrast for the same rate and the only place we will be staying in Austin from now on!!

All in all a brilliant location for those visiting downtown Austin and great, modern hotel with friendly service - we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Kiki264,
Thank you for sending in your comments and feedback from your stay. I am so glad to read your great comments and will be sure to share them with the rest of the staff. Our goal is always to impress the guest and it seems we succeeded in your case.
I hope you will stay with us again on future trips to Austin! Thank you for your Hyatt loyalty.
Sincerely,
Brad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Some friends and I wanted a weekend trip away and boy, we were not disappointed! The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Getting ready to go out at night was made easier by having the sink and mirror outside from the shower. There was a great wardrobe closet so our things weren't wrinkled. Only downside was the iron was broken, but we called the front desk and they brought a brand new one within 10 minutes! Will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Nicole,
Thanks for the taking the time to send in your feedback and we are glad to read that you encountered a welcoming staff during your stay. We have also noted your comments regarding the AC/breakfast options and will work on improving. I hope to welcome you again soon on your next trip to Austin.
Best Regards,
Brad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $107 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing