We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're doing everything right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was an out-of-state high school, and I was literally all on my own in Austin save for a few students I knew at UT. They very quickly made me feel at home right when I walked in the doors and was greeted by the clerks. Getting my room was speedy and easy, and the room itself was clean and spacious. The location in proximity to campus makes tons of food locations within walking distance, and the clerks themselves were happy and helpful when directing me around the city. A great job all around.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pstanley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear pstanley95,

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and your comments "they're doing everything right". I was happy to see that our staff made you feel welcome and at home while giving directions to everything in the city. We do have a great location, centrally located near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to Austin. The Hampton was a great place to call home for a few days - friendly helpful staff, beautiful room and public areas, affordable rates, comfy beds,and very good breakfast. The location is ideal for easy and comfortable walking to capitol, museum, and university. We would definitely choose to stay here again. It's a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Nancy J,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor! I appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the friendliness of our staff! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel was researched on trip advisor and after reading the comments I immediately booked on Expedia.ca for $132 Cad a night. (not including taxes or parking) Free WiFi that works great!
When we arrived on Sunday evening close to midnight we were greeted by front desk host Victor. Our check in was smooth however, Victor did not seem to be that welcoming. We also asked for a better parking rate as the current one seemed rather hight for long stay visitors. He told us to come back next day to speak to Manager. At any rate, it was late and maybe he was just tired.
The next day we came down to meet morning staff and what an amazing greeting had by all. They each greet you with a big warm smile and a firm handshake. They were not able to reduce our parking rate, but they did move us to a larger room. We were quite pleased and content with our new room 431.
The breakfast each morning is your normal continental spread such as eggs, potatoes waffles, fruit, yoghurt, coffee and tea etc. The staff (Shannon especially) are continuously walking around asking how you are with a friendly smile.
The pool on the 5th floor is clean and has a beautiful view.
The gym is a decent size with nice equipment choices.
There is also a laundry room located by the pool. We often swam and did laundrywich made it very convenient.

The only thing I would like to suggest is to have a reduced parking rate perk for HH members that are there for a longer stay. We usually choose Hampton or HH hotels that offer free parking as the car rentals can be pretty pricey.

Jennifer, Darby, Shea, Maria, Jonathan and Shannon make a great team! Thank you to all of them for making our stay so comfortable and fun! We will be back next April and look forward to our stay:) We will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends.

I travel often and and usually choose Hampton Inns and this by far is the best one so far for customer service.... hands down!

Room Tip: Higher floors above the 5th have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear SherryAbourdreau,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for your detailed review on our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our staff. Our staff takes great pride in their work and delivering A+ customer service. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Second visit to this hotel. Let me give you the 6 reasons why you should consider this hotel.
1. Quiet neighborhood without all the noise and traffic of downtown convention area.
2. Affordable -- pricing was actually less than other locations in downtown.
3. Rooms are huge with 18 ft ceilings and nicely appointed. With large windows giving you a great view of Austin.
4. Easy access to suburbs for business meetings and short cab or drive to Austin nightlife if that is on your agenda
5. Good gym with small pool for a quick efficient workout.
6. Ginormous lobby that makes it a great place to retreat when you get tired of working in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanJoseMikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear SanJoseMikester,

Thank you for your feedback on tripeadvisor. I agree with the six reasons you list on why to stay here and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us!.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting Austin for a conference hosted on the UT campus. This was the hotel recommended by the conference organizers. I was very pleased with my stay. The hotel was well-managed, very clean and modern, breakfast was good... Location could have been a little better (closer to campus) but it was completely fine. I would stay here again next time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Jennifer K,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvor. I appreciate you taking the time to inform readers of your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a solid Hilton Family hotel. Rooms are clean and well appointed, beds are comfortable, and the 1st and 2nd floor lobby areas are nice. The large breakfast area is set up more like a lounge than a restaurant, which was also very nice. The breakfast is the standard Hampton Inn fare, so not the best, but edible. If you prefer to go out for breakfast, there are numerous restaurants and cafes well within walking distance. Overall, we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper level room. Was quiet and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWf_from_WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear DWF_from _Wc,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our rooms and public space. I was happy that you were satisfied. I was disappointed that you felt our breakfast was Hampton Standard. We go out of our way to have more then the standard and have many upgraded items. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved the eclectic art and style of this hotel. It was a bit far from the central part of downtown, but we were only stopping over on a trip. The room was modern, clean and spacious and breakfast was delicious with plenty of options for everyone. Didn't get to the pool, but staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRQmom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear SRQmom 38,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadisor. We appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to appreciate our eclectic are and style! I believe our staff is the friendliest in the city and thank you for the kudos to our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $97 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing