We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE THE HAMPTON INN ON LAVACA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
1 review
“LOVE THE HAMPTON INN ON LAVACA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is one of the best places to stay in Austin. Incredible value AND high quality amenities. Free WiFi, Fitness Center, Pool and the staff is super helpful. Added plus the breakfast is amazing, great variety which is not typical for free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Nalie L,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us & that our staff was super helpful. We love having you here! We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    220
    52
    11
    4
See reviews for
385
246
66
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for a conference at the tail end of SXSW. Because the hotel was booked for SXSW my room wasn't ready when I arrived at 1. No worries though because the hotel staff made great recommendations for restaurants nearby. To make up for my wait, I was offered the best room in the house. It was a corner room with a view of the state capitol and the UT Austin stadium. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was well-appointed.The great service didn't stop at the end of my stay. On my last day of the conference the assistant general manager offered for me and my colleague to work on the pool deck while we waited to go to the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner balcony suite on the southeast corner, high floor of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keefer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Keefer L,

Thank you for your kind words on tripadvisor. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your SXSW experience. I was happy that our staff helped make it a great experience for you. Our team takes great pride in their hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a wonderful stay as always when we stayed her for two nights in the king suite with balcony for a girls weekend! The staff was always so lovely and the view of the capitol was amazing! We love the location of the hotel!

Room Tip: Book a suite with a balcony, the view of the capitol is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Vanessa R,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was lovely. Our team takes great pride in their work and I will pass on the kudos.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Please note, this is my first post for a hotel I've stayed at, and I travel on a bi-weekly basis. My travel agent sent me to this place, and I have to admit I was very concerned by the low price and location when she booked it. Upon arrival, I was overwhelmed by outstanding service, and arguably the best room I've stayed at in Austin....no joke. The Manager on duty named Victor Avila went out of his way to ensure my stay was was a 5 star experience.

I'm a Marriott Gold member, but this place takes the cake for high class, great service, and an overall great stay at a Hampton Inn.

I hope this doesn't raise the standard rates, but trust me -- it's worth it.

Room Tip: Excellent was not clicked because I hadn't yet experienced
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhawkins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Rhawkins10,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. I will pass on the kudos to Mr. Victor Avila and thank him for his service. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was fortunate enough to have a large room with a balcony. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. There were enough outlets and in good locations. There are plenty of hotels within walking distance. Plenty of on-site parking. The breakfast was much better than the typical tasteless "free breakfast". I actually wanted to go dow for breakfast. Refrigerators in the rooms. No safe.

Room Tip: 13 corner rooms are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_In_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Kay_In_Denver,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you had a "lovely view, convenient location". I was happy to see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We do have safe deposit boxes at the front desk to store valuables. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights recently and were favorably impressed! Our suite on upper floor offered great balcony views and we also enjoyed the pool deck. Would be nice if there were a bar and restaurant like the Garden Inns but as other people have mentioned, food and drink are within walking distance. Pricey - over $1000 for the stay - but you get what you pay for! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJP55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear TJP55857,

Thank you for the feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you scored us 5 circles and stated that our hotel had a "great location"! I was happy to see that our balcony rooms meet your needs and that you enjoyed your time in Austin. We look forward to your return visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I often stay in Hilton's/Hamptons because of our HHonors card. This is the best I've stayed in. It's truly top- notch. The staff is the friendliest , most- helpful. All Hilton's should try to be this good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Louis_Virginia,

Thak you for the kind words on tripadvisor. Thank you for calling us " the best Hampton you've stayed in". We agree and appreciate the kind score. Thank you for mentioning that our staff was the friendliest and most helpful. Our team takes great pride in their work and appreciates the kudos. We look forward to your next stay with us.

sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing