We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“quality and convenience”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an excellent hotel choice if you are attending any events near the University of Texas campus. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast buffet is quite good. It is our hotel of choice in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 755elises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Mary W,

Thank you for your kind words on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. I was delighted to see that our staff was "very friendly and helpful" upon check in. I was happy to see you appreciated our views of the Capitol and Austin skyline. I suppose we dropped the ball as our parking in the garage is $19.00 per day. I assume you were able to find street parking. We look forward to your next stay in Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    239
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
419
272
70
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff upon check-in. Fantastic room with comfy bed, great bathroom, work area and view of the capitol. Just a few blocks north of the convention center, so not as handy as Hampton Inn San Jacinto, but in some ways, nicer. Only a handful of restaurants in walking distance, unfortunately. Loved the complimentary garage parking. I prefer it over the San Jacinto location in terms of experience, but San Jac is easier for walking if you need to be downtown. San Jac has mandatory valet for $25/day, so another win for Lavaca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mary W,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you were " very impressed with Hampton Inn Lavaca" It makes me so happy when I see that our staff was friendly and helpful. I agree that our location is central to all Austin has to offer and appreciate you describing our location to tripadvisor readers. We must have made and error as our parking is $19.00 to park in our garage. We do have meter parking outside the hotel that guests can take advantage of if they are watching meters and time patroled. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose to stay at the Hampton because of the location. I have always liked the Hilton brands, but this property blew me away. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The interior of the hotel was modern and well decorated. I will definitely be a returning customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Caity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Caity J,

Thank you for the comments on tripadvisor and we appreciate that you " wouldn't stay anywhere else". I was proud to see that our hotel "blew you away" & that our staff was helpful and friendly. Our unique design is second to none and we believe that our hotel best represents the City of Austin! We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Brand new, ideally located, and offering 15 foot ceilings, this is a heck of a hotel. Food and staff and decor is exceptional. The view is terrific and everything within a short cab ride or walk. Best value in Austin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Arthur H,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. Thank you for noticing the details of our truly unique Austin hotel. To my knowldege, we are the only hotel that offers high ceilings in our rooms, fans in our rooms. I agree that we are centrally located near all Austin has to offer. You are steps from the entertainment district and when you do decide to go to bed, the entertainment noise will not have an impact on your nights sleep. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel was very nice, especially for the price. It is in a great location too! The room was more than comfortable and very clean. We really enjoyed the rooftop pool area, which has a view of the UT stadium, the Capitol, and the Austin skyline. It was very pretty at night as well. We were within walking distance to everything we needed and wanted. It was a great little getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellMTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Shellimcl,

thank you for your feedback on tripadvisr. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I was happy to see that you saw value in your stay with us. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the rooftop pool area with incredible views of UT and the Capitol. I agree that we are centrally located near all Austin has to offer and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next stay with us

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The King suite was very large, clean, and exceeded our expectations. The only complaint that I have is that they should upgrade the coffee pots in that room, and the front desk staff was not very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank KeshiaS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Keshia523,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I appreciate your feedback. I was disapointed that you did not feel our staff was very friendly. We take great pride at the hotel about delivering friendly service and apologize that we did not make you feel at home. While our coffee pots are adequate and specific to the Hampton brand standard, I will see if there is something we can do in regards to the coffee pots for the future. We will work with the staff on delivering friendly service. We hope you will come back and visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My now husband and I checked in after a short wedding ceremony Sunday morning. We were looking forward to a couple of days to recover from the craziness. We were greeted as HH members and were given an suite upgrade when the receptionist heard of our wedding. It was the last thing we expected and are very grateful for the 'true honeymoon' experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mary Z,

I was grateful for the feedback on tripadvisor. We appreciate your "quick honeymoon with a lovely suprise" stay with us. I was happy to read that we were able to give you a suite upgrade and that our staff greeted you as HH members. Thank you for spending your honeymood with us and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing