We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great nee hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm in Austin a lot for business travel. I recently stayed at the new Hampton by the capitol. Since my business is often at the capitol I appreciate the convenience this location offers. It's also close to campus, which is nice for weekend football games.

They upgraded me to a suite. The room was beautiful with a view of the capitol, the hills and the swimming pool. It had a great wrap around balcony. It was fabulous. The air conditioner was a little loud as it went through its cycle, but that's ok. For the price point and free breakfast it was an excellent value. I will definitely be staying here often. I do wish Hampton Inn would upgrade their breakfast just a bit and offer dairy-free milk options and a higher quality oatmeal. But that's on the brand not the individual hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear mindyltl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor; we appreciate all feedback. It's good to hear our location is convenient for your business travel and leisure travel here in Austin. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your room, the view, and the balcony. I will look into expanding some of our milk options for the future to better accommodate our guests. It's great to hear you will be staying with us again and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    234
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
411
268
69
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hampton on a trip to Austin to visit friends and attend a concert. This is a top of the line Hampton Inn. The location is perfect for the Capitol and the University. The hotel is brand new. It is a bit pricey but them most hotels in this area are a similar price. I would highly recommend it but I would give a couple of hints: The standard rooms are a bit small and I would feel not worth the price, spend a couple of bucks extra and upgrade. Also, in floors 2 through 4, there are some rooms which are interior, meaning there are no outside windows. Better to ask for an outside room. Great breakfast. Free tea and coffee 24 hours a day in the lobby. Beautiful décor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Onthebeachgene, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you calling us a "top of the line Hampton Inn" as we believe we are too. Our rooms feature 11 ft. ceilings to make the rooms feel as spacious as possible. I'm glad you loved out decor here in the hotel as we use artwork that reflects Austin's culture and motto of Keep Austin Weird. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we stayed at this hotel to be central to lots of different things in Austin. It was quite easy to get to and from and we were lucky to never experience much of the Austin traffic since we were generally traveling outside of those busy times. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of things and is really a nice hotel. It seems like it is brand new. The breakfast was great, the kids enjoyed it. Parking was kind of pricey, but that's everywhere in Austin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Stephanie Marti...S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a newer property having opened in October of 2012. I’m pleased you were happy with our complimentary breakfast and that your kids were able to enjoy it as well. Our parking prices reflect that of the Austin market. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Hampton is a good choice in Austin. It is a modern, clean, quiet hotel in a good downtown location, close to the Capitol. There is underground parking, typical Hampton breakfast, professional helpful staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear daetime, thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted we were "a good choice in Austin" for you. I am also pleased you were able to take advantage of all our hotel has to offer; location, complimentary breakfast, proximity to attractions, and of course our team members. We look forward to your next stay will us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is fabulous and for a great price. Beds are more comfortable than at home. Rooms are well furnished. You could not find a hotel better located for everything that you want to do. Excellent, courteous, and responsive staff. Just tell them what you need or want and they make sure you have it your way. Best five days in a Hotel ever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amnesia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Amnesia2, Thank you for the wonderful review; we appreciate all feedback. I'm glad we were able to meet all of your expectations and make your 5 days with us enjoyable. I appreciate your compliments of our staff and will pass it along to them. We appreciate everything they do here for our guests and it's great you took the time to notice. We look forward to you next stay with us and hope we can make it another “best 5 days in a hotel!”

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nicely refurbished older building with easy access to UT, entertainment/music and downtown. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, good breakfasts and a wonderful, helpful staff. Totally enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mark M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our "wonderful and helpful staff." Our staff works hard to make sure the guest has the best experience possible and I am happy you appreciated their hard work. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Last few trips to Austin, I stayed in, some total dump on i35 ( based on kayak reviews), Barton creek, Four seasons, and the Driskill. The latter three all had some pluses and minuses.

The Hampton inn, for the money, is a top 3 all time find. Very modern, clean, comfortable, convenient, I could go on and on. My top likes: Location by UT, spacious rooms, with ALL the necessary cable channels, fitness room is fabulous, pool with a view, free wifi that works, coffee in room, fridge in room, solid free breakfast--they even have a laundry room that we didn't use but maybe next time!

My only dislike is the normal downtown parking garage fee, but they had plenty of free short term parking for check in, and plenty of metered street parking as an alternative.

I am coming back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear David W, we thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoy our hotel so much and were able to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. Our location and spacious room is what sets us apart from other hotels in the area and it's great you got to enjoy these features. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Austin!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing