We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was amazing! The staff was very helpfull! It was beyond what I had come to expect! The location to the Capitol and Austin Univertsity is within walking distance and it's a great place to stay. The breakfast was delicious! They have washing machines at 5th floor, if you need to wash your clothes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabi_Campos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Fabi_Campos!

I simply can't agree more! Thank you for the kind words, we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

the atrium rooms are unique. the flower decoration outside your interior window was perfect view. yes i took pictures. the beds are fresh and comfortable. i feel asleep as soon as i got under the sheets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Deidra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Deidra S,

Thank you for the comments about your stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Ausitn. Thank you for noticing our unique features of our hotel. We truly have a special fee to our hotel which embraces the Austin culture.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

First, let me say that I am giving this hotel 3 dots to get the attention of fellow travelers so that they will read my review. This hotel had one big negative. On floors 2-4, there is an indoor airwell. About 5-6 rooms on each floor open only onto this airwell. We were on floor 2 at the bottom of the airwell and so didn't get a lot of natural light. I thought that we wouldn't mind much, but it did turn out to cast a gloomy pall over our 3 day stay. So my strong recommendation is to ask for an outside facing room. By the time we figured out the airwell issue, we were settled into our room and didn't want to move. I wish we had. There was also a minor issue with the air temperature which I couldn't control well. I like rooms to be cool at night and warmish in the day but wasn't able to control it to that extent. I have no complaints about the noise, however, unlike some reviews I have read. The A/C noise was undetectable in our room.
Now to the good part. The hotel is very nice. I always like Hampton Inns and this was no exception. In fact, it was nicer than most. Also, the staff was probably the friendliest staff I have ever seen at a hotel. I'm guessing they would have changed our room if we had asked but, as I said, we decided against asking because we had already settled in.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room or a room on an upper floor. Avoid the gloomy airwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoyceKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear JoyceKing,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback. Thank you for stating that our hotel was very nice and as you put it "nicer then most". I agree our staff is the friendliest staff you have ever seen. Yes, we would have been more then happy to move you to a different room. I was disaponted to read that our one negative caused you to score us a three on tripadvisor. You are correct, we have 15 rooms out of 137 that are atrium rooms. These rooms are actually quieter as there is no street noise. As most hotels have lower floors, poor to no views, we have a few as well. We do our best to give people the requests they desire. Please contact me should you return to visit. I would love the opportunity to give you room on a higher floor. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Hampton. The hotel is very clean and has very friendly associates. The room was comfortable and quiet. The reason for 4 stars is due to the mattress being too soft. Also the thermostat was not user friendly. We tried to leave the fan constantly running and have the airconditioner on auto. Nothing seemed to work. Next time I will bring my own small fan.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Powerlifter1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear UC Davis Mom,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor!

Thank you for your comments about our "clean" hotel and our very friendly associates. I was dispaointed to see that you had some challenges with our thermostat. We are working on putting together some easy to follow instructions for the thermostat. I was was suprised to see that you had a challenge with the softness of our mattress. We elected to install upgraded bedding including mattresses and linen's. We would love the opportunity to make up for the challenges you had with your room.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Hampton Inn caught me by surprise. It had a higher level of luxury and comfort beyond what I had come to expect from Hampton Inns. The location to the capitol is within walking distance and it's a great place to stay. the staff is very friendly and the breakfast was a good way to start your day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Swift V,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor. Our hotel is truly a unique "boutique" hotel in comparison to other Hampton Inns. Our truly unique Austin decor and featured local artwork really gives our guests a great experience. We have a great location near the University and Capitol. Thank you for noticing that our staff is very friendly and that our breakfast met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hampton was a very good choice. The staff was very helpful all the time. The hotel is very clean, beautiful and organized. I really liked the breakfast too. The location also helped a lot, and it is very close to the University. Certainly I am staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank pmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Pmaier,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and agree the hotel is clean, beautiful and organized. Thank you for noticing that our staff is helpful. We look forward to your next trip to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend only one night at this fabulously modern up-beat hotel. If you visit, you will find the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The art work in the lobby and in and about the hotel was outstanding and unique for a Hampton Inn (other than the Hampton Inn & Suites I visited in Miami, Florida which has an equally nice public art collection). This Hampton Inn & Suites is well located close to the UT campus and all the University venues. It is close to where you want to be. The rooms are nicely appointed, has a refrigerator (which I did not have the opportunity to use), and the usual superior amenities you find in a Hampton Inn. I highly recommend it if you are in Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerBoyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear BikerBoyFlorida,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on tripadvisor. I was delighted that you were our guest in our "modern up-beat hotel". Thank you for commenting on our "extremely and acommodating staff". Our staff takes great pride in our hotel and I was glad t see noticed. We agree that our artwork is unique and compliments the decor gives our guests a truly "Austin" experience. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 203 in Austin
2,301 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $144 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing