We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel in Domain”
Review of Lone Star Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lone Star Court
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is so much fun. Very "green" and Austin-y. We stayed here for a girl's trip to visit a friend who lives in the Domain area. Surrounded by great shopping and eateries all within easy walking distance, there's no reason to leave, they have an awesome free breakfast, as well as a great food trailer parked on the premises. There is a barn that hosts the bar/pm restaurant and live music, along with a fireplace and patios with fire pits right by the pool. Happy hour is great. The rooms are retro Texas décor, including a 50's style fridge that hosts the mini bar. Service was very good and is very clean. Beds were good and it's surprisingly quiet despite the location. Balcony walkways have rocking chairs so you can sit out and listen to the music and view the courtyard/pool area. Parking is free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sls1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,441 - 1,447 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great place to enjoy with family and/or friends. All things retro - from chairs on a porch to funny old refrigerator, a barn door to the bathroom, and mason jars for drinking. And I'm sure the sofa was from my aunt LaVerne's house!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Lone Star Court in March 2014 for a wedding party that weekend. This was hotel was great, the check-in service was speedy and our room was ready at arrival after calling to confirm an early check-in. Love the hotel room style, very country, yet every thing is still upscale, with a nice twist! Breakfast was complimentary and was a breath of fresh air with with quite a few options rather than the typical cereal and juice other hotels offer.
The location is directly across from the domain with a short walk away from the shopping, food and other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good location in North Austin at the Domain mixed-use shopping mall. When I stay in Austin alone, I like to stay near the Domain as opposed to downtown, because I feel safer. It's so easy to walk to the Domain from the Lone Star, the Westin Domain, or the Aloft hotels.

Okay, the hotel. Very cool Austin vibe -- a turquoise blue 40's car parked outside signals that this is not your cookie-cutter hotel. There is also an Airstream food trailer parked on the property, soon to open with Texas food specialties. The hotel is styled after a motor-court motel, but so much cooler! The rooms, in several separate buildings, are ranged around the central courtyard, which contains a pool and several seating areas, some with fire pit, others under cover with a barbecue grill-smoker. One night there was a group of girlfriends who had a wonderful time outside at the fire pit -- their fun was contagious, not at all intrusive. Live music on weekends adds to the relaxed Texas feel. The rooms are accessed from the outside, usually not my choice when staying alone, but the hotel had good security and limited access. The "hallways" are wooden boardwalks, with rocking chairs outside each room -- it was really great to sit outside in the pleasant weather. One night I was tired and headachy, and worried that the music would be bothersome, but I didn't hear a thing in my room.

Inside, the room was more than adequate -- a bit bare-bones, but everything you need: a super comfy bed, a nice couch with coffee table, a desk, a wardrobe, in-room safe, and the very cool Smeg refrigerator, filled with a mini bar (longnecks and local beers - awesome!). On the coffee table, chips and salsa and other local goodies (Bat City Coffee, anyone?) are available at reasonable prices. The bathroom had a sliding barn door -- love that! -- and a nicely tiled walk-in shower (no tub), really nice towels, a magnifying mirror, hair dryer, bathrobe. There was an additional bathrobe in the wardrobe, and that's where I found the coffee maker and safe.

The design was so cool. The desk is a slab of barnwood, the wardrobe is wide-plank pine with the bottom half ombre-painted in the same shade of robin's egg blue as the Smeg refrigerator. The retro-looking couch in my room was orange, with a matching chandelier made of orange felt! Mason jars held the necessities in the bathroom, and (my favorite) there was a metal bucket for filling with ice and longneck beers for your porch sitting in your rocking chair. FUN!!

Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to eat at the hotel, but the menu looked delicious - brisket tacos, local specialties...

There were bikes available for guests' use, and they offered the use of their shuttle to get me to an appointment in the Domain, but I chose to walk. The hotel is not pet-friendly, but did allow service dogs.

Best of all? The PRICE! The Westin at the Domain ranges over $300 a night, and my bill at the Lone Star was $127 a night before taxes. What a deal! I will definitely be back, and next time, I'm staking my claim at the fire pit, baby!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Such a unique hotel, love the food, rooms, and firepits on the grounds. Friendly staff and great kolaches for breakfast!! There are retro full sized fridges in the rooms and barn doors on the bathrooms, which have large walk in showers. Comfy beds and live music at night round our the whole experience. Beat hotel I've ever stayed at, by far!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baylorboy625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This boutique accommodation provides a refreshing change from standard hotels. Great for a girls weekend shopping experience, a couples getaway, or a family launching point. Facility would also be nice for scheduling a team-building business event. Noise level in the room was very quiet in spite of having wonderful live music both nights of our stay. All rooms face an interior courtyard. In fact, it's hard to tell the property is a hotel from the outside. Quite well-designed for privacy and security.

Equipment in the fitness facility is top notch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank af2rmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This property looks pretty austere from the outside, but within those gates lies the perfect getaway right in the heart of The Domain. Fire pits, picnic pavilion, pool, and true-to-Texas landscaping are all wonderful. On site bar with live music at night is beautiful and is also the location of a more than adequate complimentary continental breakfast (kolaches, biscuits & gravy, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, and wonderful coffee. ). The rooms are roomy and we'll appointed in fine vintage Texana style. In room Smeg is the well stocked mini bar too. Rocking chairs on the deep porches outside the rooms are the perfect place to chill. In addition to the wonderful facilities, the staff go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Suelaine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
512 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,062 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#8 of 202 in Austin
349 reviews
8.8 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Court

Address: 10901 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $135 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lone Star Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone Star Court is a cool, retro, modern hotel in Austin, TX at the Domain. A unique blend of past and present with outdoor fire pits, an outdoor swimming pool reminiscent of Hill Country swimming holes and an on-site food truck court and part of Austin's Live Music Scene with Live music Wednesdays - Saturdays. All located in the heart of the Domain, near Rock Rose, and where you can enjoy upscale luxury shopping, dining, events and entertainment at our Domain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lone Star Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing