We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cupcakes”

Sugar Mama's Bakeshop
Ranked #9 of 61 Bakeries in Austin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,743 reviews
1,058 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Good cupcakes”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We tried the red velvet, chipotle chocolate, pineapple, and carrot cake. The pineapple was the more unique. It even has pineapple in the middle.

Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Get In My Belly!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A delicious spot to grab a treat on South First, one of my favorite parts of town. I've tried a few different things here, the latest being their June specialty cupcake -- The Pineapple Express (moist coconut cake, local Treaty Oak Distilling Co. rum and crushed pineapple filling topped with lemon cream cheese buttercream frosting). Holy schmoly it was delish!! It's easy to overshoot this place because there's only a tiny single lane entrance to parking behind the shop. No parking out front. Friendly service and it always smells divine inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homeowner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
520 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Stop by for one or two”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having read about this place online we decided to try it outselves and were not disappointed.

The "James Brown" (Moist Valrhona chocolate cupcake topped with rich chocolate buttercream and festive sprinkles) and Thursday's special "Black and Tan" (Rich, chocolaty Guinness Stout cupcake topped with scrumptious vanilla cream cheese frosting swirled with Irish Cream liqueur)
were both very good.

I prefer a little less frosting on my cupcakes but it wasn't too much that you couldn't eat all of it, the cupcakes were moist and just the right size..

If you are in the South Austin or Slackerville area, Sugar Mama's Bakeshop is worth a stop.

However be warned that the entrance to their parking area can easily be missed if you are driving south, and the curb going back to their parking area will likely scrap the bottom of the front of your car.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had the "mama loves you" which is chocolate with lavender buttercream. The cupcake was amazing. Moist with a delicious buttercream icing. Not too sweet. Friendly service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoubleNJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“a great back to roots!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A friend of mine ordered an unforgettable chocolate cake for my husband's b-day here and, I must say, I was quite shocked when we got the cake: it looked so obviously hand made! In times of incredible master works in cake's decoration it was like a bad joke, but the big surprise came when we ate it. It was so delicious that I tried the parts separately and guess what: only the cream was sweet the rest was salty! The place is also great, so lovely decorated and friendly designed that you want to stay. A must in Austin!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank maltinpolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Mama's Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Mama's Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing