We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent breakfast place”

Driskill Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 6th Street
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast place”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Staying at the hotel, this is a convenient place to grab breakfast. The food was OK, not great. The service was good. Although I needed a breakfast to go and they made it really fast and even gave me a free latte while waiting. The food was good.
Another day I had a tex-mex omelet and it was greasy and gooey but it tasted OK. My dining partner ate Eggs benedict and said they were average at best.
Three are better places in Austin for breakfast, I'm sure, but you won't leave here wishing you went elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wearytraveleratlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    10
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The history here is worth the visit, beautiful architecture, lots of historic items to view, food was great, presented well and priced right! Cafe style seating. And the staff was excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food while watching downtown Austin”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Driskill Hotel is a landmark in Austin. The hotel itself is a living legend with busts of the original owner and his sons on three sides (learned from the Austin Duck Adventure). The hotel is filled with memorabilia and is located right in the heart of downtown. This review was meant to be just for the restaurant which was terrific, great burgers, fish and crab cakes while watching the townspeople walk by. We've previously stayed in the hotel which is surprisingly quiet for the downtown location. In any event, have lunch or dinner at the Driskill restaurant and you will not be sorry. Plan to leave full or share the large dishes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Service for a supposed 5 star hotel was deplorable!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Cafe at least 4 times in the past month for breakfast and each time the service was anything but 5 stars. We like the atmosphere of sitting outside so we've been trying to give them the benefit of doubt, thinking that it might have been an off day. But, after this mornings experience, regrettably, the Driskil and my money will forever part ways.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JmLira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“What a Reception!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was invited to a reception for a national group meeting --- about 200 people. The atmosphere is spectacular and it is worth taking a walk through the public areas of this hotel to get an idea of an era that has long passed. Apparently this was one of Lyndon Johnson's "hang outs". The food and service were wonderful. Obviously when I come back to Austin I will see if the hotel is priced reasonably for an stay but would love to come back to the restaurant for what should be a great meal, based on the food at this reception. Note: In order to complete this review I had to check a "price" for the meal and based on perception only it looks like a $$$$ meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driskill Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Driskill Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing