We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hostel! Friendly, inviting, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Firehouse Hostel and Lounge
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great hostel! Friendly, inviting, great experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This experience couldn't have been better at this hostel, the room was nice and clean and very well maintained, the lounge was also clean and a really easy way to meet other travelers and the front desk was very helpful (except for one lady working one night, not sure what her deal was). This is the third hostel I have been in and this is by far the best. Also you simply can't beat this location, you're in the middle of everything and wherever you need to go in Austin you can either walk to or take the bus (what a great bus system Austin has!) The bar downstairs is cool little pub and the hostel does a great job with all of the events like the pub crawl and other events it has to offer. Great place and I'm looking forward to staying here again soon!

Room Tip: All of the dorms are fine, probably the 6 person is a little quieter, I'm sure the solo rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMarrMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
14
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Brilliant place to stay, very central, great staff, great service, great food. If you want to make the most of what Austin has to offer on a budget this is the place to be.

When we got there the staff were extremely helpful informing us about what was in the area. The attached bar is really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Firehouse over the July 4th holiday weekend to attend a convention downtown. We stayed in a 6-person suite and generally enjoyed our stay. We loved the opportunity to meet new people that staying in the 6-person suite provided. However I do suggest getting some ear plugs from the front desk. The bar down stairs can get loud as can the other guests.

The hostel provided basic amenities that suited our needs. The room was air conditioned and clean. My husband's mattress was comfortable, but my own mattress was extremely firm and not to my liking. If you have the option of choosing your own bed, I definitely suggest testing out the mattresses before selecting a bunk.

The kitchen was clean, and the hostel provided plenty of dishes and cutlery for our use. The breakfast was basic (fruit and bagels) but there is a large fridge to store food if needed. We walked over to Whole Foods the first day to stock up on some staples for the trip.

The hostel provided basic, relatively comfortable accommodations, and we are happy that we chose to stay there. The best thing about the Firehouse is the location. Sixth Street is right around the corner and provides a lively evening scene and plenty of good restaurants. Also the city is very walkable. It seemed as if the hostel was only a few blocks from all the locations we wanted and needed to go. We only needed to take the bus to and from the airport, which we really liked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here to see the party scene in Austin. The weekends? Awesome! Weekdays? Not so much. On weekends they close off the traffic, so there are about 10 times more people with an amazing atmosphere, filled with people out to have a good time. Be sure to plan your trip around the weekend if you hope to enjoy the nightlife here.

great little bar at this hostel. Good value drinks and fun bartenders. Quite a noisy location but everything dies down at 2am.

the staff were very nice and helpful. I lost my ipad on this trip and was constantly bugging the front desk with calling the taxi company I left it in, to speak with someone from lost and found which was a real pain. Make sure you do a thorough check of your things before exiting a yellow cab. Useless company!

When you pick a bed, be sure to find one with a powerpoint close by. I was lucky enough to have one near mine, however the other roommates were complaining that they didn't have one.

Me and all of my roommates were a little cold in our room. They provide you with a thin blanket so maybe ask for a second one, or layer up!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Austin. The young, very helpful staff is doing a great job. The breakfast is very nice with fruits, bagels and coffee/tea. Perfect start for a day.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and cool, the bar connected to the hostel is very good with perfect cocktails and beer.
The only bad thing is the internet which is only available around the front desk, which is really annoying. Also it's way too slow. I'm sure it's gonna be fixed soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisterdiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres, Royaume-Uni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well, I'd like to be happy but that's not really the case. Stayed only one night because I have a reservation for the three days of the Psych Fest, and honestly that's a relief. Staff is really nice and helpful. The equipment is not bad at all as it's brand news : showers are ok, bathrooms are quite clean. Breakfast is not really great but it's free. The localisation is fantastic ! You're at the corner of 7th St, meaning that 6th is just around. That's a really good base for a night trip in Austin. If, like me, you really have to sleep after a non very reasonable travel rhythm, that can be a problem. I don't know at other moments, that's the Austin Psych Fest, and during festivals people are drunk, noisy and everything. What I can't understand is that they were unable to stay calm one minute in the hostel, including the rooms. People were VERY noisy, opening the room doors and talking very loud. The were opening their stuff in the middle of the night, moving things, laughing and everything. I can manage the noise, I lived in Paris, but had a awful night because of the loudness. That's a shame people just can't understand than they have to respect the others a bit... I know that's not the hostel fault, but avoid it if you wanna have peace :/, at least during big events like this.

Room Tip: Take a solo one !!! You're in the middle of Austin, so of course that's fiesta around you, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneymarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay when in Austin! Young friendly owners/staff who are more than happy to point you to great spots if you want to get away from the frat bar scene on 6th. Great location right on 6th street, comfortable, clean and new. Still undergoing some renovation but hardly noticeable while staying there. Must do if in Austin!

Helpful?
Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#30 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firehouse Hostel and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firehouse Hostel and Lounge

Property: Firehouse Hostel and Lounge
Address: 605 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Firehouse Hostel and Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest standing firehouse in Austin, built in 1886, the Firehouse Hostel is opening this fall to provide Austin area travelers with an affordable and friendly option in Downtown Austin. We offer clean and secure accommodation, 24 hr reception, laundry facilities, secure luggage storage, free wifi and a complimentary, healthy breakfast.The attached Firehouse Lounge is a great place to meet travelers and locals, sip on a classically prepared cocktail or locally brewed beer and enjoy live, local music. The Firehouse Hostel and Lounge is truly a one of a kind establishment in downtown Austin. Come experience what the Firehouse has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Firehouse Hostel and Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing