We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Make a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salty Sow

Salty Sow
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty Sow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poquito St
Description: Salty Sow comes out of the gate offering exotic and staple cuts — all under $16 — in one of the best spaces in Austin
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent! Make a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Let's start with the important part: cocktails. Salty Sow's are fun and quite tasty! My friends and I were trying several different ones, and that doesn't happen very often. Who samples drinks? They are that good.

The food is delicious. We tried numerous appetizers, all were excellent. This is my second time here, and I selected my entree off the chef's menu both times. This time I got a pastrami salmon that was heavenly. It was perfectly cooked and wonderfully flavorful.

The service was great. Our waiter was attentive, and we were never lacking cocktails.

Make a reservation! This place has earned a good reputation and fills up fast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    112
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Though the menu items were not always apparent, reading the list alone was entertainment and our server relayed the contents to us without hesitation. In our travels we are always looking for local gems and The Salty Sow did not disappoint. The menu was divine, the service by Ryan was impeccable and the ambiance of a neighborhood icon translated to our five star rating. We'll be back on our next visit to Austin. Kudos!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank funjob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have driven down Dean Keaton many times and this weekend stumbled upon this rather plain front simple building that is " Salty Sow" noticed all the folks on the back outside patio and full parking lot and we had to go in. The first thing that was interesting, apparently this is one of the last places to eat in Austin you CAN still make a reservation, who knew?? Even though we did not, the wait was not bad on the cool back porch sipping a few of their "Mad Men" style cocktails, they were reasonable and delish, make sure you check these out, descriptions on menu before you just order beer or wine. The appitizers all sounded amazing, we chose the "best chuecutere" plate in Austin, it was devine, meats, cheese, relishes, they offered extra toasts. We chose the entrees our waitress suggested, fall off the bone pork roast, bacon wrapped pork filet on fabulous sweet potatoes, and candied pork. There was a party on my taste buds that night, along with the cool breeze on the open patio and great company,. it was a PERFECT NIGHT IN A- Town. Inside seating looked intimate, tight tables with dim lighting but a bit loud for our liking, the patio was perfect, the prices were reasonable for the gourmet quality food. Check out the menu on thier site first if you have a question. Service was fast , helpful and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arleen_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favor restaurant in Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We just moved to the Austin area late last year and have spent a lot of time trying out new restaurants. We discovered the Salty Sow a few months ago when a friend visited and we have been in love ever since. It is by and far our favorite place to eat. The appetizers are incredible, especially the Triple Fried Duck Fat Fries and the Pastrami Salmon. For the main course, I love the Bacon-wrapped Fillet Mignon or Blackened Redfish. For dessert, I recommend the Butterscotch Budino.

The biggest issue with this restaurant is parking. Most of it is on a barren lot just west of the location, and it is typically extremely packed. It sometimes takes a few minutes to wait for someone to leave before you can park.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rich, tasty, memorable food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've been to Salty Sow a couple of times. As others have said, the duck fat fries are amazing, the brussels sprouts and hard to stop eating, and the pork shoulder was good to the last little bit. I went with my family, which includes a couple of foodies, a chef, and several food fans. They all loved it too. The service is prompt and professional, and the environment is enjoyable.

Don't go if you're on a diet.

Don't go if you're even remotely a vegetarian.

And don't go if you don't like pork and bacon. :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salty Sow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing