We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great ambience”
Review of Salty Sow

Salty Sow
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty Sow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poquito St
Description: Salty Sow comes out of the gate offering exotic and staple cuts — all under $16 — in one of the best spaces in Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great ambience”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We came here with friends over Memorial weekend for dinner. The restaurant is much bigger then I had thought, with various rooms to eat. But it doesn't feel that way. We elected to eat inside as it was still pretty warm outside, but there were fans in some of the outside areas which made them comfortable. There were TVs in the rooms but not obtrusive - you can still have a good chat without feeling like you are in a sports bar. The food was absolutely delicious. We had the chicken liver pate in a jar - so creamy and full of flavor, the duck fries, then the pork Duroc, the bacon wrapped pork fillet (x2) and the candied pork belly. Everyone loved their meal. Afterwards even though we were full (!) we shared the banana foster beignets and the caramel dessert. The banana foster dessert was just outstanding. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable - the meal for four with wine and cocktails was less than $45 per person. We will definitely be back !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    116
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went to the Salty Sow when we were in Austin in December. It was Christmas Eve and i was amazed how crowded it was and how wonderful the service was. Typically, on Christmas Eve places close early and the staff is angry because they are having to work, not this place.
The food was excellent and the menu was interesting and fun. I would definately go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair oaks ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food, lively atmosphere for groups”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

pork dishes were great- brussel sproat leaves were top notch-
we sat out in the covered patio with big group-lively and fun atmosphere- very good waiter service-knowledgeable and helpful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyhikers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I went here with 6 others and we all pretty much got different things. I got the triple fried duck fat fries that were very good. For the main course my girlfriend and I got the Candied Pork Belly and the Bacon Wrapped Pork Filet Mignon, both were excellent. For dessert we had a strawberry shortcake type dessert that I don't see on their menu now, it could have been a special. For a nice dinner out when your willing to pay more this is an excellent choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
422 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A great experience for all four of us”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our evening at the Salty Sow and concur with other recent reviews. We began by sharing the delicious Charcuterie and Cheese Board, and followed with Slow Cooked Beef Shoulder, the "Special" Pork Chop, the bacon Wrapped Pork Filet Mignon and the Candied Pork Belly respectively. All were superbly flavoured and well prepared. A pity there was only enough hunger left for all of us to share one superb Berry Bread Pudding - it was gorgeous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salty Sow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing