We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at a Snail's Pace”
Review of Salty Sow

Salty Sow
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty Sow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poquito St
Description: Salty Sow comes out of the gate offering exotic and staple cuts — all under $16 — in one of the best spaces in Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Service at a Snail's Pace”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We, 3 of us, dined at the Salty Sow last night. The place was nearly full. After being seated and giving our beverage order our server got on with her other serving duties. about 5 minutes later she assured us our beverages were on the way. After another 5 to 10 minutes, she arrived with the drinks. We ordered a charcuterie selection which was a special of the day. After 45 minutes, and multiple assurances that our order was on the way, it arrived. The only cooked portion was some toast; our server couldn't explain the delay. She assured us that we would not have a similar delay with our main course. She was correct it took less than 45 minutes but it was a long wait. The food was good but the service was not tolerable. This is our second visit to this restaurant. The previous visit we considered the service to be slow, but this topped that experience. Ii is likely our last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    115
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great on your palate and easy on the wallet”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Specifically went for their $4.00 happy hour and was delighted with just about everything. They have received many rave reviews and I say "ditto." The only disappointment was their tacos. The egg made them messy and they were not spicy enough for what one would expect in Austin. Their rosemary fried chicken was wonderful but the massive sweet potato biscuit was a bit heavy. All in all a wonderful way to have some divine appetizers and unusual cocktails at a very reasonable price. Service was five star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still Talking About the Dessert!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first thing we loved about this restaurant is the fact that you can get reservations because it is very popular. We started with some of the excellent signature "ritas" and the Truffled Deviled Eggs! (see picture) Delicious!! - even if you don't usually like deviled eggs. With four in our party, we shared bites of each of our main courses, and we settled on the Beef Shoulder (like the best pot roast you've ever had) and the Candied Pork Belly as our favorites. But - the most lasting impression from our dinner was the dessert - truly it was enough for all four of us - Bananas Foster Beignets served with ice cream. This was so very delicious we talked about going back another night during our stay - just for dessert!! And - we're still talking about this dessert - even two weeks later!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Bad place.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is a Gastropub some say. What's that? The usual hyperbole of sustainable, locally "sourced" blah blah. We had beers and a nice charcuterie and cheese board appetizer. Two of us had the roasted bone marrow as well. The meat and cheese were good and the wife said the marrow was good. My beer served in a goblet barely half full was a rip off. I believe it was called the devils backbone. really. Two of us had the crisp chicken thighs, which looked quite tasty and they said were. I had the milk braised pork shoulder which was quite tender and pretty tasteless. My side of cauliflower and wild rice sounded tasty and was nice with the melted parmesan over the top. One of us ordered the crispy brussel sprout leaves(?).. with raisins and enjoyed it. I hoped the dessert would be more oh, enjoyably normal or a good finish. Our party had the bananas foster beignets and I had the butterscotch boudino. The beignets they said were real good and looked so. My boudino was a let down as it had crunchy salt in it. It was such a weird deal that I kept thinking it was a lost filling or broken tooth. I would not go back and two others enjoyed the scene as they are younger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toadandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Upscale BBQ”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not the run of the mill BBQ spot. My boyfriend was wanting BBQ, so I looked on tripadvisor for recommendations. This wasn't far from our B&B and it had good ratings, so we gave it a try. It was a Friday night, so we had to wait about 40 minutes for a table. It has a nice atmosphere, with a tree growing right through part of the patio. The food was great and not over priced. The portions were not huge, so we had room for dessert. I recommend the green chili grits and candied pork belly. I would also recommend calling ahead for reservations. It is a comfortable atmosphere, with a mix of attire from dressy to casual.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freebyrd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salty Sow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing