We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. Good value.”

Tarka Indian Kitchen
Ranked #452 of 3,699 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: Fresh, Fast & Flavorful Indian Cuisine. Fresh Whipped Lassis. Select Wine & Beer. Dine In. Take Out. Delivery via Dine on Demand. Online & Mobile Ordering including our own iPhone App. City of Austin recognized Green restaurant for Recycling & Eco-Friendly Take-Out Packaging.
Larkspur,California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Good value.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you do not know about Indian food, try this first.On the wall near the entrance is a large menu describing the food and choices. You can make your decisions easily and unstressed before you go to the register and order.The service is fast. The kitchen is open.For American pallets probably the mild is the one to get first. Then move up,if you like.Complimentary WiFi.
Tip:go at least 30 minutes before lunch to avoid the line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogstargems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value, predictably tasty food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes, this is a chain and perhaps a bit soul-less, along the lines of Pei Wei, etc., but the food is fast, tasty, good value and predictable quality.

I like spicy food and have to say that their "spicy" options are definitely on the hot side, not just "American spicy".

This is my go to place when I have a hankering for Indian food, but don't need the fancy service or to have the chef's special. You can get many options vegetarian, and some vegan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfinkel78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty and well-prepared”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This relatively new Indian restaurant offers a very broad selection of authentic dishes.
The lamb mirch masala was excellent and the naan bread is actually cooked in a lay oven.
The service was quick and friendly and we can't wait until our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian food, Panera bread-style service.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

what do I say? Great food choices; excellent service. The kebabs and desserts are to die for. Unlike traditional Indian restaurants, the service is quick.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gurneet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well-run fast/casual Indian restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a fairly standard menu that you see at nice Indian local restaurants all around the world. The difference is, you order at the counter and they bring the food very quickly, which makes it much more efficient than the usual. We liked it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AtPontchartrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tarka Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing