We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couldn't belive it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
Ranked #10 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“couldn't belive it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

People standing around the corner on a 50 degree night waiting to get in for a burger and a beer. Believe it. The burgers and beer choices are that good. Lot's of local brews and burgers are great. The buns and fixings really seal the deal. You have to like a zoo of people and a line to order your burgers even when you get inside, but I would go back in a minute. Just that good. Most of the crowd seemed to be in 30's and very "hoppy".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    129
    25
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inviting modern burger joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Casual, modern and welcoming - great variety of burgers (including tuna). We did not have to wait in line on a Tuesday night.

Helpful?
Thank Moxie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Killer Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We are spoiled to this place...killer burger and the green chile queso is to die for! Try it on the fries ( also killer ). Great service and people-watching atmosphere along with the food & drink makes this a super place to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikes1cin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The burgers in this place are great! It's an 'order at the counter' place, but the burgers are just soooo delicious! I had the turkey burger the last time I was there, but have had the Mexican one too and both were amazing. They are pretty large though - I've never been able to finish one!

Service is always pretty good, although the last time we were there our server spent a lot of time tending to my fiancé and kinda ignored my friend and I - but I can't blame her, he's handsome! :)

I think I actually prefer the S Congress location for atmosphere, but there is often a line around the corner. The food is fantastic at both.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Austin has done it again by providing yet another completely new spin on a traditional concept. This place is a must eat.

Helpful?
Thank coltmac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing