We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very nice”
Review of Lenoir

Lenoir
Ranked #174 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great new restaurant. Lots of buzz from foodies. Locally sourced, creative food.
Austin Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Very nice”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I have eaten in most of the nice restaurants in DC, Austin and St Martin. Lenoir ranks with them all. We started with the red and white vermouth house drinks. Very nice especially the coffee infused red. The waiter Chris was perfect. Very friendly when my wife and I were ordering and asking questions and unobtrusive while we ate.
The food had decent size portions, not large and not tiny. Everything was done well. The cucumber salad, softshell crawfish and poached cobia were incredible.
We were a little worried when we did not have a table to our selves. But when we arrived and had the short side of the dinner bar we had more than enough privacy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    25
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small Jewel”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We read about Lenoir in Southern Living magazine and decided to drop by to try it. Upon arrival, we were disappoint that the hostess was more interested in taking call versus the people in front of her. The restaurant mainly only takes reservations since they only have one walk- in table and it takes a triple check to see if it is available or not. We counted only 35 seats in the entire restaurant.

Now that we have the minuses out of the way, our waiter made up for all the short comings upon our arrival. He made us feel at home and made sure there was not a dumb question asked. We were able to sample the wine before ordering, and he thoroughly explained the menu before we ordered. Each course was delivered and explained when it arrived. We definately felt we were the only ones in the restaurant.

Lenoir is a neighborhood gem for a romantic diner for two or a party of six.

PS-Be prepared to park off site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasFunTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel Guelfo di Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“these are the poets...”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

...standard, go-to, plate-licking, unpretentious, deeply satisfying, farm-to-fork goodness. On the best-edited short list of Austin eateries, Lenoir pushes happy buttons for chow pilgrims who can, 30 years after, still fully sense the little house/restaurant on a farm outside of Vendôme with two dinner seatings, four nights/week, the husband in the kitchen and madame out front, 25-30 seats, finely crafted wine list and menu at which you scarcely glance, trusting the house to bring you what it already knows you need. Long live Lenoir!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions,”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food is innovative and different, and really pretty good. However all they have is a price fix menu so you take your chances that they happen to have choices that you really like, and it is not cheap. The service was good. The dining room is a bit quirky but the tables in the garden were quite pleasant the night we visited while we waited for a table to open up inside. They are very busy so obviously they are doing something right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A South Austin Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We have had Lenoir on our list to try for quite a while - so when tickets to Paul McCartney was bringing us to Austin, we made early reservations. The menu is pre-fixe but there are multiple choices to select from. The heirloom tomatos, shrimp, dessert, pork terrine...all was marvelous. Yes, we actually shared a dessert and it took all my willpower to not lick the plate. I highly recommend reservations regardless of when you want to go - the small house renovated to a restaurant - only seats 30ish. Its a very relaxed Austin atmosphere - wear whatever is comfortable, but it's also a great "date night" local.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenoir also viewed

 

Been to Lenoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing