We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love SoCo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SoCo District

SoCo District
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Austin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #12 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trendy Austin area south of Congress Avenue.
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love SoCo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is normally the first area we come to during our visits to Austin. A friend of the family owns Uncommon Objects, so that's generally our first stop. We can't always afford to get something(it can be pricey) but it's still fun to walk around and see all the unusuals. We also love El Tesoros just a few doors down. What I feel like sucks.. is they made all the food trucks move off of South Congress which I would think would draw more business to the area. SoCo is also a good place if you want to play my favorite game "homeless or hipster"

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bccj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    241
    56
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great eating area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

SoCo was great for us being just 15 mins walk from our B & B. Vibrant part of the city. A good range of restaurants. Hopdoddy's hamburgers and Botichelli's we especially liked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCWalker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Music, arts, crafts, more music ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

SOCO does its best to stick to "Keep Austin Weird". Area offers great music, food, shopping and people watching.This area is not to be missed for a trip to Austin.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Willy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun browsing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

interesting stores, people, food trucks, resteraunts. We had fun walking around and exploring. The resteraunts were very busy, but everything we tasted was very good. My daughter loved the western boot store and all the amazing boots.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So vibrant area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Music, arts, crafts, more music, foodtrucks for all, funny shops, boots... Austin is so much more than sixth Street, so don´t miss SoCo!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlemmingBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SoCo District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing