We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Low Rent, you get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Texas Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heart of Texas Motel
Ranked #183 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Indiana
Level Contributor
223 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Low Rent, you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We actually stayed for two weeks and if all you want is a place to sleep at low cost this place will do. At least when we stayed it was okay. Quiet but run down and needed a remodel. The room was clean but dated, the internet worked as did the fridge and microwave. It was a typical low rent motel but adequate and we will probably be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calloused_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
3
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here a few years ago and it was very nice. Now it is a pit. No maintenance has been done for years. The microwave barely worked, no hairdryer in the room, the freezer section of the refrigerator needed defrosting, dust was thick in several areas in the room, and the bathroom was barely functional. Don't believe the comments on the hotel's website. I would never go back. The room rate was inexpensive but I feel ripped off by paying that much for a dive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler51697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

You pay for the room before you see it. There is a reason for this...you would never stay if you saw it. Large stains on the floor and bed spreads. Old mildewed shower and bathroom. No chain lock on door. Beds from the 1950's. A prime example of a flea bag motel. I can't say enough bad about this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredguy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abilene
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The room smelled bad,construction was going on,left after one night

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wttktt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I was in Austin coaching in an 18-under baseball tournament and needed an inexpensive place to stay on a Saturday night that was close to Westlake HS and St. Edward's U. I didn't need much: just a clean room with a shower, a bed, a refrigerator, and an air conditioner, for just one night, for a low price (on a weekend!), but in a reasonably good section of town. The Heart of Texas Motel met all of my criteria and then some. The motel looks exactly like what it is: an older motel that has been spruced up. I was a bit surprised to find that the motel's sign looked half broken, but the motel owners seem to have spent their money fixing up the most important part - the interior of the rooms. My room was clean, spacious, and cool. After coaching back to back games in 100+ degree heat, it felt great to plop down in an actual recliner (a nice touch), turn the air conditioner on higher, and drink a cold Gatorade. Then I went out to eat, returned to the motel, and took a shower. A nice touch is that there were two sinks, one inside the bathroom area, and a second outside. The only thing that I can find to complain about is that the wireless internet signal was too weak in my room for any sort of useful connection (I was near the hwy end of the motel). I could only get a connection if I moved away from the desk and toward the front window. But I didn't mind, since I was too tired to stay up anyway, and I had to be at the baseball field by 9AM the next day. I had a nice night of rest, since the mattress was comfortably firm (not overly "hard", but not soft either -- just right!). I woke up refreshed and ready to brave the Texas summer heat on the baseball field again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackHays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is the worst motel I have ever been to. When we walked in the room we were greeted with a horrible smell and huge stains on the carpet. In the bathroom their were tiny roaches crawling out of the sink and roaches in the shower. We refused to stay there. Never stay at this motel! The Heart of Texas motel is disgusting and a health hazard.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — many roaches in the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mandles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Besides the internet connection in the room, the place was a bit depressing. There were really no conveniences there and even though I had paid for a week, I left after 2 days. I did get a good recommendation for an Indian restaurant in town from the front desk...

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dingy old buildings
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tsarkoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin - Sunset Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Texas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Texas Motel

Property: Heart of Texas Motel
Address: 5303 US 290 West, Austin, TX 78735
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heart of Texas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Texas Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing