We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I got Lost at The Lost Parrot Cabins!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost Parrot Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lost Parrot Cabins
Ranked #17 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
austin
1 review
“I got Lost at The Lost Parrot Cabins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Wow! What a fantastic place, We felt like we were in Mexico and only 20 minutes from the house. Cat and Cliff have done an amazing job and are the most fantastic host's. Cliff playing the guitar sitting on the deck with a glass of good wine was priceless! The feeling you get when you walk into or out of any one of the cabins is refreshing and extremely relaxing! I look forward to my next stay at Lost Parrot Cabins. Thank you so much for this Lost place. I cant wait to get lost again!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not enough time there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommymx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Since we discovered the great website 4 years ago we have made an annual trek to the fabulous Lost Parrot. Even though very close to a busy, growing area outside of Austin once you go down Storm Drive and turn in to the Lost Parrot property you are transformed to a colorful, quiet, fun environment. The decor and design inside the cabins and throughout the grounds are so much fun !

We stayed in Mango Moon the last two times and it is like being in a tree house. We did a lot of bird watching from inside and out.

We have stayed in several different cabins and they are all unique and fully equipped. Our very favorite thing is the great covered private porches with ceiling fans and awesome hammock (and regular seating too). When it got too hot out there (July) we moved in to cool AC in cabin or headed down to pool. The pool area has numerous colorful and comfy chairs and lounges as well as shade under the thatched roof on one side and lots of umbrellas! It even cooled enough at night to enjoy the hot tub.

The owners and all the staff are very nice and helpful and we always enjoying visiting with them.

We like to stay on property once we are there but there are a lot of great restaurants close by.

  • Liked — quiet, awesome decor inside and out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texaspaddler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

What can I say? I do not like standard resorts or hotels when I want to relax. I need something different but cool and clean. Lost Parrot is that indeed. Close to Lake Travis and perched on an amzing hill, you feel like you are miles away. Cat, the owner has to be one of the sweetest people I have ever met. I felt like I knew her before I met her just from the phone conversation to make the reservation. The concept is perfectly executed, cabins filled with a riot of color and cool artwork. Impeccably clean. I read the last review and have to tell those folks to take a chill. We drove through the hills and saw $8 nillion mansions next to trailers with yards full of "texas treasures"-that is Austin. YOu never know what is going to be around the corner of the next hill, but, again, that is part of the charm. If not, Disneyland may be a good choice.
Cat welcomed us with open arms and even upgraded us to a larger cabin (WITHOUT US ASKING) as she knew we really needed some R&R. The pool was cleaner than the one I found on a recent stay at a four-star hotel in Galveston (Galvez). It was crystal clear. They made us feel like this was our home while we there-we couuld swim when we wanted, grill out by the pool or pick one other hundreds of DVDs available. Or, swing in the hammock on the deck of the cabin and "fuggadaboutit". Breakfast?! If you want something, Cat will give it to you fresh. I have had legions of free breakfast in other placesand tell you what, I can do without plastic wrapped muffins and soft fruit. The Lost Parrot is a special place for folks who *get it*. As far as amenities in the form of toiletries-if you can afford to drop a couple of hundred bucks a night on a place, I certainly think you can afford your own shampoo-But wait a minute - they did supply stuff--I loved the castile soap they supplied-it was wonderful and organic. There was soap everywhere- a fully stocked kitchen...again, not sure what folks are complaining about, since I am the first to complain if something is other than what it claims to be. These people have done their best to provide a relaxing home away from home (with very cool furnishings) and have succeeded We will be back Cat and Cliff (who I did not meet but heard much about:) and we will tell everyone we know about your special place at the end of the road....THANK YOU

  • Liked — The feeling the owners infuse throughout and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — I had to go home!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ARKSugarLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

1) The hillside pool with a view is really AN ABOVE GROUND POOL WITH NO VIEW.
2)"Breakfast" = served at 10am. Muffins & coffee
3) Accommodations for $200/night = Full size roll out bed on wheels, 1 person plastic stand up shower, and a VERY LOUD wall unit air conditioner.
4) Amenities = NON-EXISTENT.
5) Soap = better bring your own. They only provide hemp oil to bathe with.
6) Location - At the end of a dead end gravel road across the street from a gypsy commune. NO KIDDING. Directly across the street from this "wanna-be bed and breakfast" are abandoned school buses and cars which have power run to them and appears as though people are living there.
7) Service - we never even saw the manager...not even when we checked out 1 day early because we were unable to sleep because of the 1965 air conditioning unit that made loud noises ALL NIGHT.

This was our first trip to Austin and thanks to the Lost Parrot it ended up being one of the most stressful trips to date.

We were charged for both nights, even though we only stayed 1 night, and the "manager" cat still has not returned my calls.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY. THIS PLACE IS A JOKE.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ihatelostparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

This is a great place. Laid back, very clean, comfortable, adult and kid friendly, grills on the property, all set up in a Jimmy Buffet kind of way. The folks who own this place are really neat, you can watch current DVDs, music, swing in a hammock on your deck, get a massage therapist to come out. Just kick back. Very relaxing, swimming pool, jacuzzi, Saturday night is performance night on the stage with whomever is a musician. We'll be back and we're bringing friends with us. Thanks for a great time. Dana and Vernon 2007

  • Liked — Jimmy Buffet atmosphere, tucked away, friendly owners, pool, music stage on Saturdays eve
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tricoastal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway to Lost Parrot and wish we could of stayed longer!!! The cabins are comfy and unique and the decks with hammocks and rocking chairs transport you to a tropical locale. Everywhere you look is another treat for your eyes. The hospitality of our hosts was fantastic even when we arrived several hours late due to poor weather. . . .thank you!

If you are looking for local live music and a fantastic vista of lake Travis head to Iguana Grill you won't be disappointed

We are dreaming of our next trip back.

  • Liked — chilled out atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston-Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lost Parrot and really enjoyed our time there. The bungalow we stayed in was cute and cozy with bring walls and cool Latin folk art.

The breakfasts were ok, not too special, but a great start to the day. We enjoyed ours in the rocking chairs on the front porch. The rooms were a bit pricey for what they were, but the overall experience was a really good one.

Overall, a good place to stay. It's a bit far out from Austin, but the drive into town is scenic and there are plenty of places to grab a meal near by. The kitchenettes in the rooms are a huge plus!

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Disliked — The price and the location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gracylue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
La Villa Vista
#9 of 36 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Parrot Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Parrot Cabins

Property: Lost Parrot Cabins
Address: 15116 Storm Dr, Austin, TX 78734-2745
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Parrot Cabins is a mini-resort best known as a laid back getaway with artistic decor and lively ambiance -- Texas Hill Country lodging with south-of-the-border pizzazz "an eclectic hide-away that's true to the spirit of Austin." New: On-site hybrid/electric vehicle charging station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lost Parrot Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Parrot Cabins Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing