We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Austin
Ranked #27 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

I spent 5 nights at the Hilton for a conference and was very pleased.
The hotel is clean & modern. The room was very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows & the bed was just right. I really liked the modern decor. The bathroom was stocked with fluffy towels & very clean also. If you want to workout the equipment is at the 'spa' & will cost you. If you are there for more than a couple of nights, I recommend getting a week pass for &15.00. The 'spa' is actually very nice. The workout room is stocked with equipment & bring your headphones to watch tv while you sweat. There is a very nice locker room with full size lockers, showers, & sauna. Unfortunately, it rained off & on practically the entire time I was in town, so I didn't get to use the pool due to lightening. My room did overlook it though & it looked quite refreshing. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Also, I highly recommend taking a Segway tour of Austin if you have the time, it was a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank imtepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    491
    168
    77
    32
See reviews for
150
260
75
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

I stayed in Room 2320 (2 double beds) and thought the room and amenities were nice (bathrobes, toiletries, soft towels) The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good water pressure. There were many power outlets around the entire room for computers, cell phones, ipods and any other electronic device you might have. There was a Lavazza cofee maker that actually made great coffee. Unfortunately, there was only powdered non-dairy creamer. Luckily, there's a Starbuck's coffee shop in the lobby.

Like other reviewers mentioned, the hotel was full of people, but I didn't hear anyone on the floor. They must have good sound proofing.

Self-Parking is $12 per night. I was only at the hotel during the morning and evening, so I was able to park for free on the street. The meters run 8:30 AM-5:30 PM. I only ended up paying for a couple of hours one morning when I didn't leave until 10:30 AM. It was $1 per hour.

Instead of taking a taxi to/from the airport, you can take the Austin Metro Airport bus. It picks up right across the street from the hotel. The cost is only $1.50.

The hotel is within walking distance to the shops and restaurants on 6th street and Congress and the rest of downtown. I definitely would stay at the Hilton again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, location in the city
  • Disliked — No Mini-moos (non-refrigerated real dairy cream) for the coffee in the room.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

PROS
* Great front desk crew – efficient, friendly, helpful
* Beautiful, elegant lobby, very impressive, great for people watching.
* Room was well appointed, clean & well laid out.
* The room was extraordinarily well soundproofed. Didn’t hear anyone else, not once!
* Parking garage easily accessible. When you check in, your room key card will also let you in/out of the garage. Our conference group got discounted parking at $12.00 per night.
* The hotel assigns your room a personal, direct phone number during your stay. Nice, no switchboard to go through.
* There was a speaker phone on my phone. Nice touch.
* No fee for print outs of emails, internet pages, etc. Must p/u in the lobby.
* Really nice hairdryer – hot & quiet.

CONS
* WIFI IS NOT FREE in the rooms, not even for hhonors members; it costs $9.95/night. However, (AND HERE IS THE BEST TIP EVER)... if you sit in the lobby, near their café, you can p/u their signals for free! The front desk will not tell you about this!
* TV channel offerings very limited.
* No continental breakfast.
* Absolutely the most horrid vegetarian meals I’ve ever had on a business trip; baby carrots spread out, with sprouts & some kind of sweet potato thing; it all tasted wretched!
* Paid $1.08, at the lobby café, for a package of Reese’s PB cups.

OTHER
* I stayed in room 1730. It had a king size bed, small sofa. It was located near the elevator & ice room - ideal location.
* Paid $108.00 govt rate per night
* View from the even side of the hallway looked out over I-35.
* As of July 2007, this is the largest hotel in Austin – over 800 rooms
* Never got to the pool or work out room.

  • Liked — That I never heard anyone else from another room or the hallway. It was quiet!
  • Disliked — That wifi is not free. Nuts! And, that the conference food (for vegetarians) was really bad.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Momsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

While the staff is generally pleasant (with the exception of the surly business center attendant) and the rooms are of good quality, I ended up paying $400 more than I would have if I stayed in a hotel that didn't charge:

$15/day for self-parking ($20/day for valet);
$3/20 minutes of internet access in the business center; $9.95/day for in-room internet access;
a package receiving fee (yes, just for receiving a package addressed to me and allowing me to pick it up); and
$10 gym fee.

Don't even get me started on the spa treatment fees or the prices in the restaurants. If you have money to burn and like being nickled and dimed, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Rooms, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Charges for everything!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beano2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

Booked two nights through Hotwire. If you choose a 4 star hotel in downtown Austin through Hotwire, this is probably the hotel you will get. After all the bad reviews on this site I was prepared for the worst. However, the staff was nice, the concierge very helpful, the rooms very comfortable with upgraded amenities, everything in our room worked, the room was fairly quiet, the view was excellent, the bed was good, the linens were nice. The carpet looked brand new, everything was very clean. I do believe the parking needs work as the lot was full half the time and it would be very difficult to park in the small spaces with an average size car or SUV. I don't ever use the minibar anyway and I didn't need the gym so the charges for these weren't an issue for us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if booked through Hotwire or Priceline. I paid $115 per night. Would probably be better choices in the $200+ per night range.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrDanDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

If you think you are going to play premium price and get everything thrown at you, think again. The price you pay for the room gives you, the room ONLY.
There are no drink or snack machines, you can conveniently get something at them in hotel restauraunt. Cokes are $3 and it goes up from there. I had to walk back to the 6th street area to buy some screwtop drinks.
Parking is $15, Gym is $10, Earplugs are $1 and you will need the when the drunks start filing in around 2 AM, the walls are thin. Oh, and I had to stuff a towel at the edge of the door so the light from outside would not shine in under the 1/2" gap from the bottom of the door to the floor.
If you want to jump on the internet in the lobby and check e-mail real quick you can do that, for $3 per 20 minutes.
You pay for the ceramic tile, granite countertops and 27 thread count egyption linen. Personally, I would rather have laminate countertops and a coke machine down the hall.
By the way, if you think $200 per night gets you a comp breakfast like most normal hotels, think again, they will deliver a breakfast to your room for $14 (starting price) per person.
We wanted a spa treatment, but instead of having a massage from their in hotel spa for a STARTING cost of $95, we called another spa who sent someone to our room and set up a very professional table complete with music for $60, that included the callout service.
No fridge, no microwave.
All in all, it was an nice hotel with waaaaaaay too many extra costs and ridiculous prices on what they do offer.
The staff was very friendly. Gave directions and ideas for site seeing. Even the lady in the booth of the parking garage was very friendly.

  • Liked — Convenoent Location
  • Disliked — Money Grubbing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sky9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

We booked our weeknight stay at the Hilton for a $104 bid on Priceline. This was the high point of the stay.

1) Despite calling ahead to request otherwise, when we arrived we were stuck with a room with two beds, normally a small and acceptable problem with a 4 star hotel booked via Priceline. However, this issue was serious since 1) we were on a romantic getaway and 2) the 2 beds are full, not queen like the industry standard. Thus in order to be comfortable we had to sleep separately. Really romantic. Ok, so we were just going to deal with it. However, in the middle of the night we discovered that bed #2 was BROKEN, the box spring being cracked on one side and sagging to the ground on one side of the bed.

2) The Hilton is cheap. The parking is $15. The fitness room is $10. "Complimentary" earplugs are $1. There is even a nasty little note on the mini bar telling you to keep your own things out of it because they are "not responsible for damages." When I stay at a nice place I expect perks, not additional charges.

3) The room, though new, is badly constructed. See the note about the bed above. The bathroom also didn't have a fan, another essential ingredient to a nice hotel room. Also know that our room had a faucet in the bathroom that was coming loose from the counter. Once again, 2 star quality, 4 star price.

4) The management was no help. When we called to complain about the broken bed we were told "Oh, thank you." Click. End of conversation. No apology, no manager coming on the line and telling us that Hilton was embarrased for their bad maintinence.

I stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn last month. It was GREAT. Though it was a 3 star, the bedding, furniture, TV, amenities, and staff were all superior to this place. Since the location is the only good part about the Hilton, I would recommend staying at the Hilton Garden Inn (within like 2 blocks of this bad Hilton).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Broken bed, ridiculous extra charges, rude staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fidlfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Property: Hilton Austin
Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#5 Spa Hotel in Austin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#16 Business Hotel in Austin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Austin hotel, situated in downtown Austin adjacent to the Convention Center. Our hotel is surrounded by the city's most vibrant shopping, dining and entertainment scene. The famous 6th Street Entertainment District, Warehouse District, and 2nd Street District are all within walking distance of this downtown Austin hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing