We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly hotel”
Review of Hilton Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Austin
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I wanted to get away from Houston for the weekend with my dogs and do a little hiking. I was a little nervous since it was my first time staying at a hotel with the dogs. I stayed on the 24th floor, and it was actually really fun taking my dogs in the elevator - Austin is truly a dog friendly city - and the Hilton is a dog friendly hotel. All of the guests loved to see the dogs experience the elevator rides. There is a grassy area just outside of the hotel which came in very handy. The front desk was extremely laid back and friendly, and made us feel right at home. I simply left the do not disturb sign on the door if I left the dogs for breakfast or cocktails on the executive floor. You will need to bring water and food bowls for your dogs, as they are not provided, fortunately I was very well prepared.

I did leave the room for extended hours on Saturday for a few hikes with the dogs. I took the do not disturb sign off of the door, but room service never came in the room to clean or refresh the towels, shampoo or soap. So, I simply went down the hall and asked if I could take some items from her cart and she allowed me to. Again, everyone was extremely friendly.

The Executive floor rooms are huge, and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2010

Beautiful atmosphere, art, open, spacious
Rooms are comfortable
Would like it if it had free wifi throughout

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Practical-Plush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Accompanied my husband, who was there on business, with my 11 and 13 yr old kiddoes. I was consistenlty impressed with the quality detail in how the hotel was designed and decorated. Everything -- from "smart" layout of garage to meeting room elevators to the outstanding balance of art and function throughout the hotel. Not one nook or cranny was overlooked; you can be awed by the grand designs but don't overlook the quality linens in the bedrooms or the artistice loamps that mirror the hallway sconces or the hammered metal trim you walk on that frames our famous Texas star on the elevator floors, or the panels/walls/finishes of nearly every room/space in the hotel.

Loved the outdoors pool, even in the wintertime (hot tub hot, swimming pool warm enough if you are swimming). Looks smallish if it's ever crowded, but beautiful -- great layout and atmosphere.

My only reservation was the surprisingly bland and uninteresting dinner served at a festive company function. The executive lounge provided standard sustenance, but outstanding service.

Ignoring the food, it was like staying in a museum quality facility overall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilAllYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed on a Sat nite here after considering several other hotels in the area on short notice. I booked with the Hilton/Visa Signature 25% off promo and thought even with that discount, the room rate of $119 was a little high for this Hilton property. The location is great and is within walking distance to Austin's 5th and 6th street nightlife and warehouse district. The rooms are quite small, they are listed at 350 sqft and almost feel smaller than that. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. A little surprised the bathrooms didn't have the usual curved shower rods. I stayed on the 20th floor facing I-35 and music could be heard all night from adjacent bars a block or two away. My check-in was professional and quick, but other than that, I didn't interact with any other employees on the property. Room service is available 24 hours, however I did not order or dine on the property. Elevators were quick and I never had a wait for one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ez369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I attended a banquest event for around 1000 people. The ballroom was very nice. The service good. However, the food was inedible. Virtually no one at my table of ten people ate much of the food. The salad was ok. The entre was awful. Working from the bottom up there were the following layers: sweetened red mystery sauce, thin-sliced mystery item (initially thought is was a slice of deli meat yet it had no flavor), flavorless fish (at first I thought it was flavorless chicken), steamed asparagus (actually was ok). Luckily there were ample rolls that were good. The dessert was ok too.

One of my table-mates commented that it was his third event at this hotel, each one had similarly poor food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank pfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

The hotel was beautiful, clean, excellent features, surrounded by great restaurants, only a couple of miles from my son's apartment, close to the bridge where we saw the bats come out and a great pool and spa with a spectacular view of the city including the capital

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank KarenG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Our New Years Eve stay at Austin Hilton Downtown was the last stay at this hotel. I made online reservations through HHonors requesting smoking room on Executive floor. upon checkin, was greeted by desk and told my requests were all taken care of. After entering room , it was obvious it was non- smoking room. I immediatrely called front desk and was told " soory sir, we do not have smoking rooms on executive floor anymore. i asked to be moved to different floor ,and was told not possible. i was then told " sorry for your inconvience, sir , would you like to check out . We are booked full""
i asked to speak to management and was told : they are busy,sir,, it is New years eve ,you know?""

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmtCentralTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 205 in Austin
2,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#23 of 205 in Austin
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#16 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $226 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Austin hotel, situated in downtown Austin adjacent to the Convention Center. Our hotel is surrounded by the city's most vibrant shopping, dining and entertainment scene. The famous 6th Street Entertainment District, Warehouse District, and 2nd Street District are all within walking distance of this downtown Austin hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing