We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and cleaniness, great view and location”
Review of Hilton Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Austin
Ranked #25 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
1 review
“Excellent service and cleaniness, great view and location”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I rented 5 rooms for immediate family to attend our son's wedding. Other guests occupied many other rooms. Everyone raved about how much they enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Guests walked to worship, night life, etc. The wedding and reception were in the Hilton's conference room and ballroom. Both were excellent. Meals were served very promptly, food quality was excellent and staff were very polite. Great experience!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtexasone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    536
    184
    84
    36
See reviews for
174
297
79
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Our stay at this hotel went smoothly, like it does at nearly all the Hilton group hotels. What was really outstanding was the meal in the restaurant. The Cheese/honeycomb appetiser and mahi mahi and mango butter entree were very impressive. There was a feeling that the chef was really proud of what he was producing. All staff were very helpful and the room was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed here for the National Hurricane Conference at the Convention Center. Very clean and excellent location for access to the Convention Center across the street. The only drawback was the lack of a moderately priced restaurant open for dinner in the hotel. Liberty Tavern was open for breakfast/lunch only.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

The Austin Hilton is a good hotel. It is in an excellent location, and almost everything in Austin is close to the hotel. The rooms are clean, but it is very noisy if the room is below the 15th floor. While the hotel is what one would expect from a Hilton, the employees and management know that they are one of the best in town. Customer service suffers since they know people will stay there.

One warning ...beware of the wireless internet packages. I purchased the hotel wireless which worked in my room, but the hotel wanted another $90 to use it for the day on the conference floor. When they sell the package, they advertise it as wireless throughout the hotel, and there was no notice that it additional money is required to use it on the confernence and meeting room floors. The management agreed that this was false advertising, but they were not able to credit me since they said the credit card was handled by another company. There was little effort to resolve this problem.

There are several good fairly new hotels in the area, and I will go to one that focuses more on customer service next time I return to Austin.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

using a popular booking site, we bid $85 on several rooms and got accepted. It was a very nice place, large well-appointed rooms, excellent service, efficient housekeepers and so on. The $16 per day wifi charge was exorbitant. $19 for the ordinary breakfast buffet was a bit much, too. I don't think the parking rates were much better.
I had to call security at 3:30 am regarding the drunken teenagers in the room next to mine. That was nice. Then at 4:30 am, loud teenage conjugal relations commenced in the room on my other side. Yay!
In spite of that, I would definitley stay there again, though perhaps not on prom night, or any other night that's going to draw in drunken adolescents, i.e. nights of home games during the football season.
Austin's a wonderful city. Visit if you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judsonmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Having to travel to Austin on a regular basis, I have found the Austin Hilton to be one of the best Hotels in the area. There service is excellent. The rooms are excellent. The facilities are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to the Austin area. Everything was first rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm2427smmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I stayed 2 nights last week at the Austin Hilton and once again had an outstanding stay. I've stayed at this property pretty regularly since it opened and have never been disappointed. Here's what I enjoy about the property:

Location - walking distance to all things 6th St. Great restaurants, bars, etc. Alamo Drafthouse is close for a truly Austin movie experience. Short drives to most everything else.

Food and Beverage - Liberty Tavern is a decent everyday restaurant for B/L/D. The Loft bar at Finn and Porter is nice. Finn and Porter serves great steaks, super fresh sushi, and great fish dishes. My main problem is they just finished remodeling the space and it is vastly improved. But they raised their prices a bit too much. You can find an equally great steak in a 5 mile radius at about 6 different restaurants for a lot less. Decent coffee shop in the lobby too.

Property - Love the pool on the 8th floor outside. I don't like properties that have an indoor pool as the only option. And even greater hot tub on that roof! Great exercise room. Most hotels have limited fitness options, but this is outstanding. It is nice enough that they sell memberships to locals. Rooms are nice, suites are even nicer. They even have a nice upscale clothing store in the hotel. Great stuff and priced accordingly.

Staff - This is the best part about the hotel to me. Every single doorman, valet, bellman, front desk staff, everyone is first class. I have never been treated better at the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. I just can't say enough about how service orientated and customer friendly they are. And when I've needed it, the back office staff has always gone above and beyond.

My favorite hotel in Texas and one of the best in the U.S.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoWineGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Austin

Property: Hilton Austin
Address: 500 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#5 Spa Hotel in Austin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#16 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Austin hotel, situated in downtown Austin adjacent to the Convention Center. Our hotel is surrounded by the city's most vibrant shopping, dining and entertainment scene. The famous 6th Street Entertainment District, Warehouse District, and 2nd Street District are all within walking distance of this downtown Austin hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Hilton Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing