We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Flavors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lick Honest Ice Creams

Lick Honest Ice Creams
Ranked #4 of 96 Dessert in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: To us, honest ice creams simply means we use only pure, wholesome ingredients in our artisanal ice creams. What doesn't go into our ice creams is just as important as what does. We never use artificial colors or flavors, high fructose corn syrup or preservatives, ever! Ice cream shouldn't just taste good - we believe it should also be good.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique Flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter loved the beet & mint ice cream. We also enjoyed other exotic flavors like cilantro-lime.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ghibesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    32
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Lick's ice cream is amazing!! I was in Austin for the weekend and was in the mood for something sweet. After reading a lot of mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect as far as texture goes but I decided to give it a try anyways. I am so glad I did!!! I had milk chocolate and coffee in a waffle cone, everything was delicious. The texture is more like homemade ice cream and less like something you buy in a store.

They also have vegan options as well!

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ice milk, not ice cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'd have to agree with other reviewers: after sampling and eating a couple of flavors, I found myself not only underwhelmed, but thinking that I could've bought better mainstream supermarket ice cream. The texture was thin, a bit more like sherbet than ice cream, but with a sort of frozen-butter after-texture. Hard to describe, but unpleasant. The server was a sweetheart, but I will not return to appreciate her great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
218 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fun frozen tongue treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have been here several times and I have always had mixed feelings depending upon how frivolous I felt at the time. It is expensive for ice cream, but this is not your normal ice cream shop. If that is what you are after, go elsewhere and be happy. If you want something that challenges your palate and your noggin, this may be for you. They are quite happy to give you tastes of all their flavors. Take them up on it. You may find something that shakes your idea about what ice cream is or should be.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerReady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've read the reviews and I am a bit surprised by the "icy" comments. I've been twice, and both times the experience was outstanding. I am someone who has traveled the world, eating my way with ice cream, gelato, etc. I have to say that Lick was almost a religious experience for me. The orange chocolate was so perfect, I almost cried. Whoever created that flavor is my new best friend! I also enjoyed roasted beets and fresh mint although frankly other than the color I would have been hard-pressed to identify the flavor as anything more than mint, but nonetheless it was pleasant and not sickeningly sweet like so many other mint desserts. I found the staff to be extraordinarily friendly and willing to let us taste WAY too many flavors to make our final choices. I don't need mountains of ice cream, so to me, their scoops were manageable and allowed me to try two different flavors each time without feeling gorged afterwards. Sure, it's more expensive than Blue Bell. It's not in the same class. And although I've been a faithful customer of Amy's for a very long time, Lick really is in a class by itself. My only complaint is the location--I live 40 minutes from my Lick fix. Please open a Round Rock location!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank undinabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lick Honest Ice Creams also viewed

 

Been to Lick Honest Ice Creams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing